You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attempting homemade RX Bars~a synchronicity and the gooey mess

in #food7 years ago

How fun! Great timing and what an interesting experiment! Thank you for mentioning me, I feel honored :). I didn't know egg whites in powder existed so now I'm learning something new! Maybe we don't have that in Norway, but I will check that out. How did the bars end up after sitting in the fridge? I have never made bars like this, but they would be great for energy bars on a hike! I've made some muslibars though, and the consistency can vary a lot! Thanks for sharing this! :)

Sort:  

I bet these bars would be great with oats or something similar added. I didn't have time yet to set them in the oven. They turned out pretty tasty but quite sticky. Hoping the time in the oven will make them a little more manageable. Muslibars sound great and must be perfect to pack for all of your adventures. These would be great too when I figure out how to resolve the stickiness. The next batch I make wont have the pumpkin so hoping without that extra moisture things go better.

Oatmel might help with the stickyness. So you’re supposed to have them in the oven, makes sence... i always have the muslibars in the oven, makes them a bit dryer and managable😅

Well the recipe didn't say anything about the oven but I thought that if I wanted to send my niece a sample I should probably make them a little more manageable. They are still in the fridge though. I used salted almonds as those were what I had so they turned out a little saltier than I would like. I guess this batch will be my hiking fuel and I will work on the next one being a little better.

I see! Using them as hiking fuel sounds great... So much better fuel and power than chocolate! :)

One should never hike without chocolate!

Hope you had a great time on your adventure with your friends :)

hehe, I do agree, I don't think I ever have... Thanks, I had a great weekend, a lot of chocolate as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34