You Gotta Try This Extra Chocolatey, Double Cream, Nutty Butter Pie! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿค—โœŒ๏ธ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿซ (Raw, Vegan, Gluten Free Edition!)

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago

lava pie final.jpg


It's called a PIE HOLE for a reason! Everyone needs chocolate pie in their lives. Why not make it gluten-free, raw, vegan and processed sugar free while we're at it?

I never would have seen myself here, making treats like this however, now that I am here... I think I was born to be a dessert maker. I love cooking all meals but I have a sweet spot for taking desserts and making them fit within my dietary needs, showing people the possibilities that lie without all of the artificial and potentially dangerous ingredients out there.

I was never a big dessert fan growing up. I can't remember a time where I actually ordered a dessert following dinner and I know now it has everything to do with the fact that my body's not a fan of processed sugar, gluten or dairy. No wonder why I never wanted any of it! Now nothing can stop me from filling my pie hole with these creations! ;)

As I have learned to expand my abilities and experiment with ingredients, I have found a love that encourages me to never have an empty fridge or freezer, and always have a healthy snack on hand to share!

That's how we ended up with this scrumptious concoction! Are you ready to get into this pie with me?

What you need:


lavapiecrustingredients.jpg


Not So Crusty Crust:
(I ended up using a lot of my crust on the bottom, making it thick on the edges so I remade the recipe ie: doubled it to have enough for the top! I've kept the measurements here the same as what I had originally used because it was easier for me when I was trying to convert it that way. It makes a large, thick pie by doubling the recipe, but can work normally if you spread it more thinly!)

  • 1/3 cup (gluten free, organic) oats
  • 1/2 cup (soaked overnight) almonds and cashews
  • 1/3 cup pitted dates
  • 1/3 cup goji berries
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 1 tbsp maca root powder (optional)

lava pie choc layer ingredients.jpg


Chocolate Layer:

  • 1/3 cup melted cacao butter
  • 1/3 cup coconut nectar
  • 1/3 cup dates
  • 1/3 cup cacao powder or carob powder
  • 1/2 tsp Himalayan sea salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk

lava pie coconut butter layer ingredients.jpg


Creamy Nut Butter

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut butter (or nut butter of choice)
  • 1/4 cup coconut nectar
  • Coconut milk (amount depending on desired consistency)

What to do:


lava pie crust mixed.jpg


1) All about that base

  • Put all of the ingredients into a food processor until smoothed together into a batter.
  • Add in more dates and goji as needed.
  • Take a little bit more than half of the mix and push it into an oiled pan.
  • Save the rest for the top of the pie!
  • Put this in the fridge while you make the centers!

lava pie choco layer.jpg


2) Chocolate heart

  • Put all ingredients in the food processor.
  • Let run until well mixed.
  • Pour over the crust and spread out evenly.
  • Put in the freezer for 10 mins to harden.

lava pie nut butter layer.jpg


3) Nutty about it!

  • Put all ingredients in a bowl.
  • Stir until everything is well blended (different brands request different amounts of each item, adjust accordingly!)
  • Add coconut milk until you reach desired consistency (I like mine slightly runny but not completely liquid!)

4) Chill out!

  • Put the pie in the fridge or freezer and let the layers harden (I left mine in the freezer for 30 mins)

IMG_9728.JPG


  • Once the layers have hardened, add the rest of the crust mix on top.
  • Spread the crust evenly over the top, leaving a hole in the center if you wish.

lava pie crust Collage.jpg


I made my center into as much of a heart as I could without breaking the nut layer (that I didn't let harden fully on account of being hungry!

  • Now decorate however your heart desires!
  • I used pecans, strawberries, cacao nibs and goji berries to accentuate the heart in the middle!
  • Put in the freezer for 20-30 minutes to harden.
  • Serve cold (it cuts into perfect pieces that way)
  • Store in the fridge or freezer (I keep mine in the freezer in a zip lock bag inside of the pan as it won't last long without it being devoured!)

lava pie final heart shot.jpg


I warn you now, if you do not allow this to harden, you will have a hard time cutting it but if you're impatient (like me) and just can't wait to eat it, go ahead... it's not going to hurt anyone not to have a picture perfect piece!

...

Ok, you caught me red handed. That's exactly what happened to us. SOMEONE couldn't resist waiting and cut through the whole pie, we thought in that case it needed to get eaten so that I could make another!)


Hope you enjoy this one, I love chocolate and nut butter together as I am sure you've noticed by now! Being vegan, nuts are a huge part of my diet. I always make sure to soak them overnight, making them more digestible and friendlier for my body to process!


Sending you love through (plant-based/vegan) food, as always! If you are new here, it's great to have you here!
I am a food fanatic as you'll surely see, and I am a strong believer in the power it has within it, and the ability it has to heal us! I aim to inspire through my recipes and posts and hope to connect with you here, through your heart. Some say the way to the heart is through the stomach, I might just agree with that theory ;)

If you'd like to see more, you can check me out here!

PS: I am also running veganwednesday challenge every week! See here for more details on how to participate (and win by sharing some love!)

Until next time,
XO,
๐ŸŠ๐Ÿ‰๐Ÿˆ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ‹๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ๐ŸŽ
HeartToTable Logo2-2.jpg
hearttoheart signature.png

Sort: ย 

Looks like a keeper.

The recipe yes, the pie no! Gone far too fast ;) Have a great weekend! Hope you get a chance to try it!

thanks for sharing.

Anytime! That is what I am here for, expect plenty more where that came from! Have a yummy weekend! ๐ŸŒบPS I love the colors in your photo <- there!

I love ur recipe

Thank you! I am so happy to be able to share it, it stole my heart! The only problem is that it doesn't last long enough because it's too delicious not to eat all at once! ๐Ÿ˜

You really never can go wrong with chocolate and nut butter! Yum!

Hey, that's my philosophy as well! See, I knew we would be great friends ;) <3

Now that's a great way to fill the pie hole! - LOL. Great job, fantastic food post!

Right? That's what I am saying! ;) I can't get enough! Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ˜ I wish there was some left, I'd ship you a piece but sadly, we ate it all -_-

These post just scream I love you! ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธ yummy in my tummy, can't wait to try this!

You know it, gotta put all of my love into my posts ;) Are you going to make it? I would love it if you did! ๐Ÿ˜

I intent to attempt this master piece and showcase my efforts for you love!

WOW! I would be honoured! Can't wait!

Yummmmmm!!!

A slice through the screen pretty please๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

I am waiting for that technology, I will go all in on it the second they figure it out ;)

It looks so yummy my friend! I like it so much! Thank you for sharing the recipe, can you keep for me one slice?

Well, how bout I do better than that and make you some when I come to visit? I really want to see the beautiful place you live in! I hear so many great things about it!
๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒฑ๐ŸŒบ

Yes my dear am sure that you will make such delicious cakes and food too, yes i hope so my friend to visit it especially the summer will start on October then we can enjoy a lot, and to taste the tropical fruits ๐ŸŒด Too.

Beautiful food post. You have a new follower. Raw, wow, amazing.

Hi @noboxes, thank you ๐Ÿ’œ I make recipes like this all of the time so if you like this one, I promise more to come! Hope you have a delicious weekend!

You put so much love and heart in your posts, it really shows. This one looks delicious. Thanks.

Hi @gardenbsquared, thank you for noticing! =D I do love putting my heart into all that I do, makes me live a much more loving, happy existence. ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE! <3 Have a beautiful weekend my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65355.67
ETH 3525.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47