If you make this Salad, You will never call Kale boring again.

in #food7 years ago

I have always loved working with challenging ingredients for some reason, especially vegetables. I think vegetables have so much untapped potential when combined with the right flavors and textures. I give you the perfect example with Kale in this gorgeous and delicious 🥗.
IMG_3823.PNG
When I was in my comercial restaurant hayday, Kale was only used as a garnish with a lemon wedge on seafood dishes. Now it is all the rage, but most fail miserably when preparing it.

IMG_3826.PNG
Ingredients:
3 cups of finely chopped Kale with the main stem removed. This is very important or it will be bitter.
1/2 cup minced parsley
1/4 cup minced fresh basil
1/4 cup diced onion
1/3 of a cup of diced bell pepper
1/2 cup of diced cooked turkey bacon(leave out for Vegan Version)
2 cups of broccoli flowerets
2 cups of cauliflower flowerets
2 diced roma tomatoes
1/4 cup peeled sunflower seeds or chopped almonds
1/2 of an english cucumber seeds removed and diced.
Crushed fresh black pepper
1 lime
1/2 cup dried cherries or other dried berry or raisins
1/2 cup of radishes
1/4 cup of organic olive oil

IMG_3827.PNG
First remove the main veins or stems running down the middle of the Kale. Then chop it into thin small 1 inch pieces.

IMG_3824.PNG
In a large bowl combined all the ingredients and toss them until everything is distributed evenly. Chill for a few minutes in fridge then serve. 😋😋😋


Here is the detailed video from beggining to end on our Healthy Recipe Youtube Channel. Thank you for watching. 🙌🏼🙌🏼👍🏼🙏🏼

Sort:  

Delicious! What a perfect summer recipe. This might sound weird to some, but not to those of us who know kale, do you ever massage your kale with lemon juice? It makes it even more delicious. Maybe there's some science behind why, but I just know it makes a difference.

I also juice kale, and it one of those greens that grows in our garden here in the desert year round, no matter what the weather. It's pretty hearty and I think that makes it so nutritious. It's a "fighter" like turmeric.

Hahaha, yes the massaging actually tenderizes it by breaking up the cells in the leaves. I still have not grown any here in my garden. I have the seeds sitting on my desk at home but this week end I am for sure putting them down. Every one tells me that it is super hearty.

That makes perfect sense! Thank you.

I like that you mention that many people don't give kale (or other vegetables) a chance because they do not realize what it goes well with.

The funny thing is, after I experimented with adding different vegetables in my salads, I realized that way more vegetables work together than do not. As long as you include a nice vinaigrette, everything usually tastes good.

I like homemade vinaigrettes because the ones you get from the store usually have lots of processed stuff in them (garbage for your body). A vinaigrette has a vinegar, oil (i usually use extra virgin olive oil) and salt and pepper. I use about a 60%/40% ratio between the oil and vinegar but after you get used to making your own vinaigrette, I recommend you adjust these ratios to your own preferences.

Absolutely, everything I make is from scratch, I never use anything out of a bottle on any of our recipes. Even mayonnaise and BBQ and hot sauces all from scratch and my own homegrown hot peppers. Thank you for stopping by. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54266.19
ETH 2288.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31