A BUSHELL OF INDIAN KARELA! (ORIGINAL PHOTO)

in #food7 years ago


Hi Steemit!

How many of you out there has tried "Indian Karela" also known as "bitter melon". I haven't personally but I found it in the supermarket the other day and was curious. It's kind of like a cucumber that grows on a threadlike climbing plant that curls.
The scientist call it "Momordica charanta". It's grown from India to Brazil.

WHAT DOES KARELA TASTE LIKE:

It's a fact that Karela lives up to it's name for being bitter. People actually classify it as the worst tasting fruit in the world. But what we may not know it's considered a super food. The Indian community likes to eat it in a stirfry. That way they can try to hide the bittr taste.

HEALTH BENEFITS OF KARLA:

The Indian and Chinese scientific practitioner's believe it is the best kept secret. They call it a medical miracle nobody knows about. There are apparently many health benefits of eating this fruit. The researcher's have used it for generations to treat type 2 diabetes, pancreatic cancer, asthma, high blood pressure, stomach issues and skin infections. Karela is available by eating the fruit or in liquid form around the world. Researcher's are hoping someday uncover it's powers.

Sort:  

I've never heard of it, don't like the sound of how it tastes lol

I know I thought the same thing. Thanks @karen54

Have you tried cooking with it,how does it taste. I am intrigued :)

I honestly haven't tried. But it's very popular in British Columbia

Would love to know what it actually tastes of

Me to. If I try it I'll let you know

I appreciate that thank you but please only have one bite if its that bad lol

Maybe one bite will be enough lol

never tried or seen this! lol

I've didn't either till recently. Thanks

I like bitter melon, it tastes great in stir fry. It is kind of hard to find around here but certain markets have it.

Great, I'm curious to try it. Thanks for sharing @lightsplasher

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98