๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ First Month Being Vegan: My Experience ๐Ÿ‰๐Ÿ˜

in #food โ€ข 7 years ago

I have been Vegan for over a month now and I am loving it, so I wanted to share my experience with you guys. Did I ever think I would be Vegan? No. But, after a month of being vegan, do I think I will go back to eating animal products? No!!

What made me decide I wanted to be vegan?

I watched Gary Yourofsky's best speech you will ever hear and the animal cruelty really put me off ever eating meat again. I don't want to put my money towards the suffering and pain of other beings so I haven't consumed any animal products since watching that video.

There are a tonne of other documentaries you can watch as well. If you want to watch a documentary about the health benefits of going vegan, I recommend watching What The Health on Netflix, me and my husband loved it! or Forks Over Knives. If you want to learn more about the environmental impact of animal agriculture you can watch Cowspiracy.

๐Ÿ˜What have my favourite foods been?๐Ÿ˜

You can eat so much variety as a vegan...too many to show, I've been loving soups, curries, all kinds of Mexican food so tacos, burritos, nachos, salads, smoothies, pizzas, pastas, veggie burgers, chips, etc. etc. Here are a few pics I had lying around of some things I've eaten this month...

I love making home made vegan sushi rolls with Sweet potato, avocado, red capsicum, cucumber and vegan siracha mayo.


This is a delicious pie I got from vegan pie shop "Funky Pies" in Bondi Beach, I got the 'no worry curry' pie with chickpeas and lentils in a coconut curry sauce...Yuuuum.


Smoothies and smoothie bowls (like this acai bowl) are so delicious to have for breakfast. It's easy to have a different smoothie everyday, otherwise I have oatmeal with blueberries, raspberries, banana, and chia seeds.


Here is a pizza I made at home, using a pre-made pizza base and then topped with a pizza sauce recipe by Jamie Oliver, plus lots of veggies, pineapple and fresh basil. Accompanied by my good friend broccoli. YUM!

Has going Vegan been hard?

Yes and no. I think once you make the connection with either animal cruelty or the health issues associated with a carnivorous diet it becomes quite easy, and you stop wanting a cheeseburger or a chicken wing. The difficult part for me has been when my husband is eating food with cheese on it, as he is transitioning to veganism via the vegetarian route, so he still has dairy. He ate quesadillas in front of me the other day when we got Mexican, and I really wanted to try it because I used to love quesadillas, but I know that I could make my own vegan quesadilla at home if I wanted to.

๐Ÿ˜Benefits of going Vegan๐Ÿ˜

So far benefits that I am experiencing is weight loss (almost 4 kilos in the month), having a lot of energy (from all the carbs!), improved performance in the gym, feeling happier in myself, as well as the joy of learning new recipes and eating food that I really enjoy.

Sort: ย 

For a vegan that sushi looks soooo delicious... yum yum

glad you're back !!! =D

I see you got really involved with this smartcash project, looks like something really interesting, I'm still having to take a time to sit and read about it. but for now i'm glad you are here again \o/

ฮฃ$$$ Tipped @andyluy ฮฃ160 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.118 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $18.88 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Woa, Thank you ! this is more than enough motivation for me to run start run after info about it =D

Thank you! โ™ฅ

@smartbot help

You can use the following commands:

  • balance - displays your current wallet balance
  • address- displays your deposit address
  • withdraw <address> - withdraws your whole wallet balance to specified address
  • tip <nick> <amount> - sends the specified amount of smartcash to nickname
  • terms - displays terms and conditions for using @smartbot

I commented the help again for you @andyluy - I think smartbot sometimes gets confused if there is too many extra words in the comment.... but essentially once you have a wallet address you can write 'withdraw' and then your address and it will move the 160 I sent you to your wallet :)

Hey @andyluy yeah sorry I have been a little bit rubbish with Steemit lately, definitely check out the SmartCash website... there are a few people making videos about SmartCash aswell... and maybe have a look at my last post about why I like SmartCash - let me know if you have any questions :) How are you doing? Happy to see your 63 reputation!!

You're back! Yay!

All the food looks so delicious.

I've been transitioning to plant based now for about a week, and it's really not difficult! Have cut out most dairy and this weeks goal is to only eat Whole Foods , so no bread, pasta or anything processed (not that those things are not vegan, but I'm trying to lose weight too!)

Well done on your journey, you're doing so well! It's so nice to see you post again, I've missed your posts!

Hey girl!! How is your plant based transition going??? that is awesome!!!
I have been so rubbish with Steemit lately, going to swing by your page now and see what you've been up to!!

yes, i keep checking on yours to see where you are!! miss you and your posts! How is Tough Mudder training going?

Did a whole week of vegan and clean eating this week! yay!

That's awesome @princessmewmew! If you want some tips, here's a post I wrote last month.
https://steemit.com/vegan/@choogirl/so-you-want-to-go-plant-based

I take full credit for helping @hannahlicious go vegan. ๐Ÿ˜

Hey girl!! How is your plant based transition going??? that is awesome!!!
I have been so rubbish with Steemit lately, going to swing by your page now and see what you've been up to!!

Informative post for good health thanks for sharing...

would you eat lab-grown meat? (:

ooo weird/good question!! I don't know really, to be honest a veggie burger sounds a bit more appetising that lab-grown meat and I'd probably rather eat normal food that came from the ground rather than a lab :)

Same here! Although I would be one of the first guys out there, who would try this lab-grown meat once... :P But in the end I consider organically grown food to be best for us humans :)

This post received a 20% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Yay! I'm so pleased this is going well for you. ๐Ÿ’š ๐Ÿ“ ๐Ÿ‰

This is awesome and thanks for sharing. I would definitely have a lot harder time going vegan, but had an awesome vegan tofu chilli. Wish I still had the recipe to share it.

Awesome! I've been vegan for more than 2 years now and prior to this I was vegetarian for 5 years. I hope nobody has to die for me to eat ever again.

You have ฮฃ2008.997 SMART (unconfirmed: ฮฃ0 SMART).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70