The words that has awakened a volcano inside of me

in #food6 years ago

I had to cry a lot right now after watching a video that made me feel very sad. One sentence in that documentary made me think more seriously about this topic.

animal-cruelty-exposed-at-alleged-chick-fil-a-sup-2-1589-1416436453-16_dblbig.jpg

I can't say that I am 100% vegan. I drink alot of milk and eat alot of cheese every week. I had dairy products more than anything else at home. When I think about replacing my yogurt, butter and the different cheese that we get now a days in the market with something different, seems like impossible. But with a great will I can do it. Whenever I remember that sentence again I will force myself to change my habits.

It is been two years now that I dont buy red meat or chicken. I eat them only if I am invited somewhere, where I dont have a choice. I try to keep my diet based on vegetables, fruits and sea food. I eat eggs to get more protein, but now I realized that I can get protein from vegetables and salmon fish till I quit eating sea food as well.

I tried to make almond and coconut milk at home and I really like it. Easy to make and tasty! I will add it to my diet in the next weeks till I get used to it. I will challenge myself to replace dairy products with more vegetables and fruits. I am learning how to make vegan dishes and following the raw food recipes.

This year I feel a bit confused after moving from one country to another and still trying to follow the same lifestyle that I had. I spend a year going to yoga club everyday without feeling tired. Replaced my usual sweet breakfast with a fresh smoothie. My sausages and eggs with stir fried vegetables for lunch and my unhealthy dinner choices with a fresh green salad or vegetables.

After some days I started feeling the changes. I started waking up at five or six o'clock in the morning full of energy. Me the same person who was lazy to wake up even at seven and needed a coffee to be alert.
I cut the sugar from my diet and started drinking normal filter coffee without adding milk or sugar to eat. Green tea even in the early morning without having stomach problems.

I remember the last time I had a BBQ with my friends in a restaurant. Had fun eating the meat with fresh olive oil and hot bread from the oven. And when we left the restaurant I saw them slaughtering one animal in front of the others. I can only imagine how the others felt looking at their friends being slaughtered. Loosing every hope they had in this life by knowing that all roads lead to the same end.

While watching this documentary today, one gentleman said: " Imagine yourself for one day in their place". And now I decided not to a be a part of this animal cruelty anymore. I have always seen animals as friends and companions. The most loving creatures that we have on this planet. I never thought about their life and suffer before getting them served on our tables. Now we are becoming more conscious and with the help of the media and many amateur videos, we can see the hidden truth. Only together we can make it an change our lives and the life of many innocent animals out there.

This is the video that I was watching :

There is another documentary that you might be interested in:

Sort:  

I really appreciate your move away from red meat and chicken... I'm in training mode and can't actually do it myself at the moment, but I really struggle with the cruelty involved in large scale farming.

I've actually cut out all carbs and sugar from my diet and I feel the exact same as you... my energy levels are very even thoughout the day and I wake up ready to get stuck into the day... as opposed to dragging myself out of bed.

Everyone is absolutely entitled to their opinions, and I don't want to cause any drama... but the documentary 'What the health' has been very critically debunked by the scientific community... I haven't seen it myself but apparently a lot of the content doesn't follow any sort of scientific process.

There are many vegan body builders-- it might be a good look- http://www.greatveganathletes.com/bodybuilders

Thanks for this @serenaanderson... I've actually got quite a few vegan bodybuilder friends and they're looking great. I'm actually training for endurance events and am on the ketosis diet which cuts out all carbs and sugar. It's very restrictive as it is without also cutting out meat products... but yes, I'm not super thrilled with it.

When I stopped eating chicken and red meat I felt ok. I could replace it with different mushrooms or sea food. After a while I started disliking it when I see it raw in the supermarket. And till now I have that feeling. Also when I think about it, if it was fresh or frozen for some months. Anyhow it worked for me that way.
Also when I started trying out all the raw food recipes and found them tasty, I couldn't think about my old food habits anymore. I think once you find e replacement, everything else becomes easy.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hanen to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Same here totally support you move its disgusting what people do to these animals @hanen

Yes it is terrible. I never imagined it to be that way :(

This post has received gratitude of 1.43 % from @appreciator thanks to: @hanen.

Thank you!

Go, do, Cleo!

Sure, thank you !

Good luck in the contest

You mean the photography contest ?

This post has received a 1.73 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @hanen. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thank you :)

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-12-7-17

You have received a Whaleshare Token upvote by the account @officialfuzzy thanks to the whaleshares community and @buildawhale

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67876.87
ETH 3852.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65