📷 TASTY TRAVEL TUESDAY - PASTEL DE CHOCLO (CHILEAN CORN PIE) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOTsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Pack your taste buds, we're going to Chile, are you ready?

I totally missed Tasty Travel Tuesday last week. I don't know what I was thinking. Well, this week I am back in taste bud travel mode, how about you?

For those of you who have followed my blog, you may have heard me say multiple times that the food of Chile is very bland. I am still trying to figure out why, but one of the many reasons is that the culture here are not risk takers. They do not like change. They do not like to experiment with food.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.

This dish is very traditional Chileno. It comes mainly from the indigenous people known as Mapuche, but does have some German influence. A large number of Germans began settling here back in the 1840's

I tried to make this dish as authentic as possible. If I were to prepare for my family's liking, I would definitely have changed some things.

RECIPE

Ingredients

Filling:
3 medium carrots, chopped
1 large red bell pepper, sedded and chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups chicken stock
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon parsley
1/2 teaspoon merken (or paprika)
1/2 teaspoon cumin
salt & pepper to taste
2 cups cooked chicken breast
4 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and sliced thinly
1/2 cup pitted kalamata olives, roughly chopped (optional)
1/2 cup golden raisins (optional)

Corn Topping:
4 1/2 cups sweet whole kernel corn
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup whole milk
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup fresh basil leaves
powdered sugar for topping (optional)

Instructions

Grease a 13x9 inch glass pan or 6 to 8 ramekins with oil and set aside. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat and add carrots, bell peppers, onion, and garlic. Cook for 7 to 8 minutes until carrots begin to soften. Add chicken stock and seasonings (bay leaves, oregano, parsley, merken, cumin, salt, and pepper) and cover with lid. Cook covered, stirring occasionally for about 20 minutes. Add chicken and raisins and/or olives (if using). Remove from heat and pour contents of pan into prepared glass pan (or ramekins). Lay egg slices over top evenly and set pan aside while you make the topping.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and combine the ingredients for corn topping in a medium saucepan or skillet. Bring mixture to a boil over medium high heat and cook for 8 to 10 minutes, stirring gently. Cool mixture for about 10 minutes then pour into a food processor or blender and pulse until almost smooth with just a bit of texture left. Pour mixture over filling in pan and smooth into an even layer.
Bake for 20 to 30 minutes until edges are bubbly and top starts to brown. Serve hot

I hope you enjoyed the photos. The lighting was perfect for me and I got a little carried away, sorry if it was too much.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

Looks very tasty!!! And the photos are very beautiful !!!)

Thanks so much for the kind compliment!

That's amazing, thank you very much

Well thank you. Thank you for taking the time to comment!

Although you mentioned it supposed to be quite bland but the bring colours make it look so appetising. :-)

Thank you for reading my post. I always wonder who is actually reading them. Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

STEEM ON!!

You're welcome

I'll take 2 thanks.

two are yours whenever you want to come by

@gringalicious, I visited Argentina and Brazil in 2014 and loved both. I wouldn't need much persuasion to head back to South America! Especially when delicious food is on offer :)

I am sure we can work something out

Your posts are mouth watering :)
Thanks for Sharing another great recipe!!

Thank you so much for commenting and your kind compliment! STEEM ON!

Hi, @gringalicious! Each post is like a masterpiece)! Keep steeming!

thank you for the very kind words!!

Looks very appetizing. Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Wow, such colour! I bet it tastes as good as it looks, which would be very very good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66