Sweet Potato Buttermilk Waffles + Veggie Scramble (Gluten Free) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

HEY STEEMIANS!! Here's an interesting breakfast project for this upcoming weekend.

I can’t deny it, when it comes to breakfast foods I’m a creature of habit

Does that surprise you? I mean, you’d probably think that as a food blogger, because I’m constantly trying to come up with new flavor combinations and recipes to share with you guys, that I’d always have something new for breakfast. Actually though, the reality is that I’m very boring when it comes to breakfast foods. Oh, and then it doesn’t help that most of my family is made up of people who don’t do breakfast so I’m not very motivated to make it.

I love all the different foods that are generally considered breakfast items though (i.e. pancakes, french toast, biscuits and gravy…). In fact, we’re pretty strange around here and it’s way more typical in our house to eat “breakfast” foods for lunch or dinner time than first thing in the morning.

Growing up, we’ve always been that way so I’ve honestly never understood why some people think certain foods have to be eaten for a specific time of day. I think brunch and brinner are perfectly acceptable, they’re the best! To each their own I guess because, as I keep learning, every culture has it’s own strange food customs.

A great example of this is how our current house guest, (who’s from Venezuela by the way) keeps telling me how unusual it is for him to eat this or that at a given time. Oh my goodness, the other day he was harshing on the fact that I served pizza with a salad and telling me that I’d be mocked if any of his friends from home were there. The reason behind it was that apparently they’d think it was a strange contradiction to serve pizza, being considered junk-food, with salad, being a so-called healthy food, He said it would seem pretentious. Isn’t that too much of an all or nothing perspective though? I argued with him that his logic didn’t make since because I think every meal should be as balanced as possible and it makes more sense to at least try to pair any junk foods you eat with something of nutrition. What do you guys think?

Okay, but pointless arguments with strange foreigners aside (I hope he reads this, lol), I wanted to tell you about this recipe. I love being able to make foods that everyone can enjoy but sometimes that means catering to certain dietary restrictions, so I feel like having gluten free recipes that my whole family enjoys is always a good idea in case they’re ever necessary. I actually think that using rice flour as the main thickener for the waffles gives them an awesome and extra crispy texture, so it’s a win win!

Anyway, this whole combo comes together quickly and easily for simple but delicious breakfast. That’s one of my favorite parts about it. The sweet potato buttermilk waffles are only slightly sweetened so they pair really well with the savory veggie scramble in place of something that might usually be served with scrambled eggs, like toast.

If you prefer though, feel free to add what’s more typical with waffles, sweet toppings like syrup or fruit. (Hehe, unlike some people I don’t put boundaries about what foods can go together or judge what people like to eat.) The point is that you can take this as an inspiration and make it your own. That goes for the veggies and cheese in the egg scramble also. I chose to use the ones I did based on the ingredients I had on hand but you can switch them out for things you like better.

RECIPE

Yield: 4 - 6 servings

Ingredients

Waffles:
1 2/3 cups brown rice flour
2 tablespoons flaxseed meal
1/2 cup rolled oats
2 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 eggs
1/4 organic vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
1 cup sweet potato puree
non-stick cooking spray

Veggie Scramble:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large carrot, diced into small cubes
1 small red onion, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium tomato, diced
1 cup portobello mushrooms, sliced
8 large eggs, beaten
2 tablespoons cream
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
salt & pepper to taste
2 medium avocados, sliced

Instructions

Waffles:
Combine flour, flaxmeal, oats, sugar, salt, nutmeg, and soda in a large mixing bowl. In separate bowl, beat eggs with oil, buttermilk, and sweet potato puree until smooth. Pour into dry ingredients and mix until you have a smooth batter. Heat waffle iron and spray lightly with cooking spray. Cook waffles according to manufacturer's instructions until golden and crispy on the edges, then remove and cover to keep warm until ready to serve. (With the size of my waffle iron I got about 9 waffles using 1/3 cup per.)

Veggie Scramble:

  1. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat and add the carrots along with 1/2 cup of water. Cover and cook for about 5 minutes until they start to soften, then remove lid and allow any extra water to evaporate. Add the olive oil, onions, and garlic; cook for 2 to 3 minutes until they start to soften. Then add the tomatoes and mushrooms and cook for an additional minutes until just starting to cook.
  2. Beat the eggs and cream together in a medium bowl and pour into the pan. Gently stir and scramble the mixture as it cooks until the eggs are completely done. Add the parmesan and remove pan from heat. Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve hot along with the waffles and sliced avocado if desired.

I HOPE YOU TRY THIS, YOU'LL THANK ME LATER


AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

Damn this looks good!

Thanks so much @bkkshadow -

STEEM ON!

veggie scramble?? never seen one that looked this good!

Thanks so much @doitvoluntarily. I had huge help with lighting. I always use natural light and this shoot just had it perfect. STEEM ON!

How can I not upvote a veggie recipe post with awesome photos?

ahh, super kind words @shieha. Thanks so much. Steem ON!!

Is it sustainable?
does it lower the carbon footprint?
Are there any GMOs?
Does it help Monsanto in any way?

you really want me to answer these?

I wish you could virtually serve me breakfast haha this looks so damn tasty!

Thank you so much for the kind words. STEEM ON!

As usual, your food looks amazing. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much for commenting!! STEEM ON!

We eat breakfast at all hours in our house, too. I love that there is another sweet potato recipe this week. I wasn't too sure what to do with what I had left over from the cookies I made earlier this week.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

You can't go wrong with sweet potatoes or waffles, so the two of them together are even better! Those waffles look nice and crisp, too. I'd eat that anytime!

Thanks so much for commenting. I am thrilled that you liked my post and took the time to comment. STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16