SUPER FAST & EASY Steakhouse Comeback Sauce Rice with Ham 📷 RECIPE & FOOD PHOTO SHOOT 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians! Who could use a one pot dish today??!

My family didn’t eat out that much when I was growing up, but when we did we always tried to make sure it was someplace good. When I think about all of the different places we did like to go, each one has a few specific dishes that stand out in my memory.

My mom and I used to love this one authentic Chinese place so much and we learned which things on the menu were the best and she knew exactly how to order. Wow, that was a really great restaurant and thinking of it is making me hungry.

Another place we liked to go on a weekend with some friends sometimes was Outback steakhouse. There are quite a few dishes that come to mind from there but one of my family’s faves was always the iconic bloomin’ onion and the comeback sauce.

This was an experiment inspired by my older sister. The good news is that today’s recipe / experiment is worth sharing.

One of my favorite things about it was how simple and FAST it made this recipe, so easy. I’ve already made it twice within a week and tried adding different things both times. Feel free to add any extra veggies that you like or you can serve this rice with salad. I really like that it can be a side or a main course, and what’s great is that everyone enjoyed it. Another thing you can change up is what meat you add. If you prefer chicken to pork then go for it, make this your own. Also, I’ve got tons of guys around so it was a no-brainer for me, but the bacon on top is optional.

Basically, it’s all about the sauce and the rest is super versatile. Oh, and I tried it both with white rice and then brown. Personally, I liked the brown rice more and so did most of the gang, but that’s just a preference. Try it both ways so you can decide for yourself and I’d love to know what you guys like better!

I mad a decision not post recipes without first being requested, but this recipe needs to be shared up front:

RECIPE

Yield: 6 - 8 servings

Ingredients

4 cups uncooked brown rice (or white if preferred)
2 cups whole milk
2 1/2 cups cooked ham, cubed
3 medium tomatoes, diced
1/4 cup crispy bacon bits (optional)
1/4 freshly chopped chives (optional)

Comeback Sauce:
1 medium onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium lemon, juiced
2 tablespoons ketchup
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
1/4 cup chili sauce or sriracha
2 tablespoons worchestershire sauce
4 ounces cream cheese
1 cup mayonnaise
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon sea salt

Instructions

  1. Cook the rice according to the package instructions until just tender, not sticky (you still want it to have a slight bite to it). Drain rice and cool a little while you prep the sauce.
  2. Combine the onion, garlic, and lemon in a food processor or blender and pulse until combined. Add the remaining ingredients for the sauce and blend until smooth. Combine the sauce, tomatoes, milk, and the rice in a large skillet or a shallow pot and stir until combined. Place over medium high heat and stir occasionally for about 20 minutes until it's heated through. Add the ham and reduce heat to low then cover and simmer until all of the milk is absorbed and the rice is hot and thick.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Very well put together and presented as always!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

You are so sweet, thanks so much!!!

It looks delicious!
Keep up with the nice work.

Thanks @tonicbbleking - words of encouragement are always greatly appreciated

Looks delicious... again! :D
Thanks for this :)

Thanks so much @luka.skubonja - thanks so much for commenting

I like this kind of dish, quick and easy! :)

This looks amazing!!

That is so nice, thank you!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.05 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46