SATURDAY MORNING PUMPKIN FRENCH TOAST Complimented With KAHLUA SYRUP (Food Photo Shoot & Recipe)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians. IT's Saturday!! Let's make a special breakfast today, what do you say?


ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G, Most all of the time, I cross post on my personal blog.

So, let's get this weekend off to a good start. Who of you have memories of French Toast as a kid? Let's bring back some memories and give it a twist, an amazing twist.

I threw some pumpkin in on this one, especially for this time of year. You see, I am still so sentimental about October being Autumn . Remember, I am in Chile where we are now in Spring (Primavera).

But listen, I refuse to give up on October and having lots of pumpkin.

I have mentioned in previous posts, we have a house guest from Venezuela. Prior to his arrival to our home, he had never had French Toast. I can tell you, he loves it. He loves it so much that I am preparing it nearly every day now.

So, that is really the inspiration of this recipe, trying to come up with a spin on the classic. I hope you give this a try, YOU'LL THANK ME LATER.

Recipe

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes

Yield: 4 - 5 servings

Ingredients

Pumpkin Pie French Toast:
8 slices sandwich bread (you pick what kind)
2 eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons butter for skillet

Kahlúa Vanilla Syrup:
1/3 cup honey
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons Kahlúa or equivalent coffee liqueur
And of course, Powdered sugar for sprinkling on top

Instructions

Pumpkin Pie French Toast:
A. Combine the pumpkin, the eggs and the sugar in a mixing bowl. Whisk all together well.
B. Add the cinnamon, the pumpkin spices, the vanilla, and the salt and mix until combined.
C. Heat a skillet over medium heat and add butter.
D. Dip bread one piece at a time into batter and place on skillet.
E. Cook on each side for about 1 minute or until edges start to darken and toast.
F. Remove from heat and repeat until all the toast is cooked.

Kahlúa Syrup:
A. Combine the honey, sugar, water, and salt in a saucepan and place over low heat.
B. Bring the mixture to a boil and cook, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes. Once boiling.
C. Continue stirring until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon.
D. Then add the Kahlúa and remove pan from heat.
E. Stir in the vanilla and allow the syrup to cool for about 5 minutes
F. Then serve over hot french toast and sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Holy Smokes!!! I had a french toast and a pumpkin spiced chai latte last night. I am SO making this tomrrow. YUM!!

Fantastic! I always strive to inpire. STEEM ON!

thanks so much for commenting. Steem ON!

Woah. This sounds really good. Did you come up with this yourself? Either way, 100% yum.

Not to brag, but yes, I dreamed this up on my own. Thank you for your kind words and for commenting. Steem ON!

Wow. just seen this. It looks incredible, I think this will have to be tried!

I can envision a selfie headed my way. Thanks for the constant support @meesterboom. STEEM ON!

Hehe, very possibly. Maximum steem on!!!

I really love it :)

So glad you liked it! Steem On!

Wow, looks so delicious!
Congrats with another awesome post :D

Thank you so much for the kind words, @richman. STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67