ROAST BEEF CRUSTED WITH ROSEMARY & GARLIC Served with SAUTEED MUSHROOMS 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE INCLUDED 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

How about some savory red meat on this fine Wednesday?!

I attribute the inspiration of this post to @richman. He has had some great meat posts in the past so I thought I'd give it a try.

We're having a big get together this weekend with several friends. Here in Chile, bar-b-ques are a big deal (by the way, it is Summer here). The only problem is, they can prepare a piece of meat on the barby, but they can't seem to make it taste good. No offense my fellow Chilenos. I mean, they can pull off flavor from time to time, but they just can't figure out that tender part.

So, this was another inspiration for this dish this week, I wanted to try to make a cut of beef that both had flavor and at the same time tender.

Any wine lovers out there? Chile has great wine. The climate, especially in the central part of Chile is very, very similar to Napa. Chile can put out some fantastic wine and the prices are extremely reasonable. And, lets just say that our friends that are coming over, they like a glass or two.

I mention the wine because this sauce has a tad of wine, maybe a little more than a tad.

Do you want to know the secret to perfect beef? Well, there's two that I think are incredibly important that most people miss I think. Number 1, low and slow, I cannot emphasize this enough. Low temperature for a long time is the best way to cook red meat. Number 2, resting. When at all possible, let the meat rest for a minimum of 15 to 20 minutes after removing it from the heat. This allows the juices to become much more absorbed by the meat so that it doesn't all run out when you cut it. This is very important. While resting, 'tent' the meat with foil. Follow these two steps and your final product will be amazing.

RECIPE

Ingredients

1 4-pound Rib Eye roast (or similar cut)
1/3 cup Fresh rosemary, chopped, or other favorite herbs
1/3 cup Garlic, chopped
Lots of Sea Salt - Don't skip this ingredient, it needs to be sea salt!
1 medium onion, sliced and diced
4 cups of a Mushrooms, variety of your choosing, sliced to about the same size
1/3 cup olive oil, divided
1 cup of beef stock
1/2 cup red wine of your choosing, A merlot would be great.

Instructions

  1. Preheat to 250 degrees F then tie meat and season with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat up a skillet with cooking oil and sear all side of the meat for about a minute per side. This is important to seal in the juices.
  3. Mix together rosemary and garlic together and add 2 tablespoons olive oil. Coat the meat with herb-garlic mixture. Roast in the preheated oven until medium-rare, about 1 hour. If you prefer your meat more done try leaving it in longer.
  4. Add 2 more tablespoons of olive oil to the same skillet you seared the roast in. Cook onions, being sure to scrape the bits of rosemary and garlic left in the pan, for about 2 minutes and then add mushrooms and stock to pan and stir over heat until cooked.
  5. Remember, let it rest for about 20 minutes, then you're ready to serve

Garnish serving platter with fresh rosemary if you like for a great presentation.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

This is delicious! I always do it for the holidays! Thank you)

Thanks so much @vampiretta. Holy cow, (no pun intended), I just saw your post, wow.

Amazing.... Jetzt hab ich gleich Hunger****

Thank you so much @homeartpictures, thank you for taking the time to comment!

HOLLY COW ! Pun intended ! Lol ! I love beef but can't afford it too often ! And your right I cook mine the same way ! Or for a cheap cut I sear it then put it in the slow cooker ! Mmmmm! Drooling ! Been eating turkey for 2 going on 3 days ! Yours looks amazing steem on ! 👍😉🚀

You are a black belt commenter Karen!! I may have to start calling you grand master.

Hahahahah! I'm learning better after doing it so many times on Steemit ! Lol ! I never even blogged before ! Your to kind thanks ! 😉👍

Wow. This looks delicious!!!!

Thanks so much for the compliment @hanshotfirst! And thanks so much for taking the time to comment!!

Looks very tasty! I have this dish turns solid (

I don't take beef but the mushrooms sauce looks good.

Okay, I can serve you a plate, hold the beef. Thanks for commenting @ace108

Roast beef is one of my all-time favourites. :)

I'm gonna save this for next year. We made a 7lb bone in rib roast for Christmas, just kosher salt and cracked pepper. Came out perfecto with my digital thermo. 15 mins at 500 deg then 275 deg till internal meat temp reached 135 deg. Rested for 20 mins. One question that I couldn't find anywhere. The roast was tied up with two pieces of string. Did I need to cut the string off before putting it in the oven? I cooked it all tied up. I don't know if that was the proper way. : )

well, I don't know if there is such a thing as 'proper' but yes, I leave the strings tied in the oven and on the grill. Fabulous feedback, thanks so much!!

Good to know. Thanks!

I have nothing to say but drool...

Here's a napkin... Thanks so much for commenting @darthnava!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79