PEPPERMINT PATTY STUFFED CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

As I’m sitting down to write this post it’s starting to pour down rain and with it comes the promise of a good thunderstorm.

Have I ever mentioned that I love storms? No, I adore them! Actually, those don’t seem like a fitting enough words to describe how happy they make me. In Spanish they’d say “me encanta”, which is a way to say that you love something but literally translated it more like “it enchants me”. I’m still trying to work through my challenges in learning Spanish but I have to say it’s a beautiful language and in some ways a much more descriptive one than English.

So I woke up the other day and realized that March is right around the corner. It’s been a really hectic year for me so far and I feel like I missed out on some of the holidays and events that have already passed so I’m getting an early start this time. Yeah, St. Patrick’s Day isn’t exactly a huge thing on my radar but at least it’s a theme, right? Haha, and I made peppermint patty cookies for St. patty’s day in a total pun-unintended kind of way. Something that my very punny big sis made sure to point out.

Oh, and I hope you guys don’t feel like I’m overloading you with cookie recipes recently. I don’t know what the deal is, but I guess I’ve just been in a mood. These are definitely some that you have to try though. Especially if you love mint with chocolate, and who doesn’t?

They’re not very complicated either. In fact, I feel a little bit like I’m getting off easy because I literally just took my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe and added peppermint patties, simple as that. The hardest part I guess is stuffing each individual ball of cookie dough with the peppermint patties, but even that is fairly straight-forward.

RECIPE

Yield: about 36 cookies

Ingredients

1 cup(2 sticks) butter, room temp
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 cups(350g) semi-sweet chocolate chips or chopped chocolate
about 36 peppermint patties

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Cream butter and sugars together in bowl of stand mixer (or with hand mixer). Scrape sides of bowl and add eggs; beat until well combined. Add vanilla, soda, and salt then add the flour one cup at a time and beat after each addition. (If you are using a hand mixer you may have to hand stir the last cup of flour into the dough.) Stir in chocolate and line a cookie sheet with parchment.
  2. Roll the dough into balls, about 2 tablespoons each, and place about 2 inches apart on baking sheet. Now take each dough ball and flatten into a disk, then place a peppermint patty in the center and gently shape dough around it and roll between your palms. Place cookies back on tray, top with some extra chocolate chunks if desired, then push them down slightly and repeat with all the cookies.
    Bake for 8 - 10 minutes until edges just start to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and cool for about 5 minutes before moving to cooling rack.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Those are Super-cookies. Wow. I do have to say that I've seen a lot of sweet things in your posts recently. But the advantage of seeing all these sweets online is that I did not actually eat half those cookies and those peanut-butter chocolate things! But I still enjoyed them! : )

Well, I am glad I am able to provide a visual that keeps you from having to partake. As always, thanks so much for the awesome comments.

haha -- you're welcome.

Yum yum yum, I'll take all 36 of them please. Great job! Side Note: I've seen videos on youtube where the Irish rant about how they absolutely hate it when people say St. Patty's Day. lol but nice pun with your peppermint cookies. Upvoted

Baker's Dozed x 3 will be 39, come and get 'em

wonderful!! up and resteemed*

That is so kind @homeartpictures. I saw that you are the judge for this week's photo challenge., very cool

Yes, I was also glad to be able to judge.

Mint Chocolate is the best and what could be better than it being in the middle of a chocolate chip cookie. Honestly, I'm not sure that anything could be!

You have a very valid point. Everyone should consider what you are saying, LOL Thanks so much for a great comment

I completely agree with you on this.

Look delicious)))👍

Thank you @lada94, I am glad you commented.

Yummy!! my fav muchas gracias :)) @gringalicious

De nada, un placer para mi!

I'm hungry right now! Classy post!

I like that compliment "Classy post." Thanks so much!

Great work @gringalicious! You have done an amazing job.

Thanks @the-future, very kind of you to say

Your welcome @gringalicious, your food posts are more than great!

Hmmmmm delicious sweetnes recipe.great.thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48