MILLET with ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH & LENTIL BURRITOS (VEGAN)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Ok, now that I have given my choco-zombies their fix, I can present to you something a little more on the 'healthy side.'

I know so many of you are working diligently to improve your eating habits. Or as some have put it, trying to reverse the shrinkage of your clothes.

So, here is my little contribution to all those working so hard.

RECIPE

Yield: 5 - 6 burritos

Ingredients

1 butternut squash, washed and sliced in half lengthwise

Burrito Filling:
1/2 cup hulled millet
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 1/4 cups water
2 cups roasted butternut squash
2 cups cooked lentils
1/4 cup salsa verde
1 clove garlic
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, large stems removed
5 - 6 large flour tortillas (make sure they are vegan if necessary)
guacamole and extra cilantro for serving

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees and line a baking tray with foil. Lay both sides of squash side by side on pan (face-up) and place pan in oven. Bake until squash is fork tender, about 40 minutes.
  2. Remove from oven and scrape seeds and stringy stuff into trash. Now you can either scoop out squash with a spoon if you're feeling a bit lazy, or take the time to peel off the skin by hand and save every bit of squash. Measure out 2 cups of squash and save the rest for another use.
  3. While squash is baking, in a medium skillet, toast millet with oil for about 2 minutes over medium heat. Reduce heat to a simmer, add water, and cover. Cook, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes until softened. Set aside.
  4. Combine all other ingredients for filling in a food processor and blend until smooth. Scrape into the skillet with the millet (hey, that totally rhymes!) and mix gently over low heat until warm.
  5. Scoop about 1 cup of filling onto a tortilla and fold in 2 opposite sides and roll into a burrito then repeat for remaining filling.
  6. Heat a small skillet and spray lightly with oil or cooking spray and place 1, or 2 if they will fit, burrito onto skillet over medium heat and toast each side for 1 to 2 minutes.
  7. Serve hot with guacamole and extra cilantro

Side Note: I have made this declaration at least 10 times now, but I can't seem to understand my own words. Every time I post a high word count post, it does not perform well. I don't know the science behind it, I just know that in recent months, the shorter the post the better.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Looks very good...upvote and re-steem :)

Wow, a trifecta (upvote, comment and resteem) That's super awesome, thanks so much!!

you are most welcome :)

I'm hungry now. I'll go cook something 😄
Very delicious 😍😍😍

I hope you cook something amazing and post it. Thanks so much for commenting!

Looks like shaurma.

It would be a stretch, but you could call it that. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment

Yum all the way!

That's so nice for you to say, thank you so much!

que buena pinta!

Muchas gracias, muchisimo gracias!

oh wow, how delicious, want some @gringalicious

Swing on by and we'll see what we can do!

wonderful recipe... up and resteemed**

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Looks delicious!! I will definitely serve this to my vegan friends when we will have south american themed party :D

Oh, that sounds awesome!! I'd love to hear all about it.

that looks so bloody good!

Bloody good, oooh I love it. That English accent is awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63548.34
ETH 2646.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74