LEMON & GREEK YOGURT PIE on a GRANOLA CRUST - Food Photo Shoot & Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

The warm sunny days of Santiago are coming to an end. Today I travel back to my home in the South of Chile, where at the moment is cold and rainy.


Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-21-1024x768.jpg

Yes, my 5 days of travel will be over late tonight and I should be able to return to my normal Steemit self by tomorrow or Sunday at the latest. I am not sure if my standings have suffered as a result of not being to post daily, but no matter, the experience here has been well worth it.

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-31-1024x768.jpg

I will be posting a post or two about my trip with lots of photos. And, I have made a resolution, this post will have several shots of me. I really, really do not like my photo being taken and you can tell because in all of my posts, I think you will only find maybe three posts that have my photo. Yes, yes almost 100% have my photo with my 'signature' next to my camera, but that doesn't count. No, from now on, I think you'll see more of me. In fact, here's a goofy shot with two of my sisters and one of my brothers:

IMG-20170308-WA0010.jpg


Maybe we should talk about the lemon pie?

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-41-1024x767.jpg

This recipe was actually inspired by some leftover egg yolks that I had from another recipe.

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust1-1024x786.jpg

When we first moved to Chile, creme cheese was hard to find and expensive. Now, it is abundant and the price is similar to the states. So, when we first moved here, this recipe was an alternative to cheese cake.

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-71-794x1024.jpg

This is a much lighter version of cheese cake and it really is easy to make.

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-52-768x1024.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the photos.

RECIPE

Yield: 6 - 8 slices

Ingredients

4 large egg yolks or 5 smaller
1 14oz (or 397g) can sweetened condensed milk
1 cup plain non-fat or Greek yogurt
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1 teaspoon vanllia extract
2 cups your favorite granola
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons oatmeal
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
whipped cream for topping (optional)

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Pulse granola, oatmeal, honey, and butter in a food processor or blender until very fine. Press into a 9-in pie pan and spread evenly.
  2. Whisk egg yolks in a medium bowl. Add all other ingredients for filling and beat well. Pour into pie crust and bake for 20 - 30 minutes until set. Remove from oven and cool. When you can handle it, put it in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours until chilled. Top with whip cream before serving if desired. It should keep in the fridge for up to 1 week.

Notes

Alternatively, you can freeze it. We liked it better this way because it is more like cheesecake.

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-71-794x1024.jpg

ALL CONTENT AND PHOTOS ARE MINE AND ORIGINAL. Almost 100% of the time, I cross post to my website which you can find out more about here in my INTRO POST.

Lemon-Greek-Yogurt-Pie-with-Granola-Crust-21-1024x768.jpg


Here's one more shot of my morning work station this week:
IMG_20170308_075015164.jpg




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Congrats you have been selected as Author of the day by the Steemvoter (SV) Guild, keep up the good work and helping make Steem great!

Note: You should receive many guild votes in an hour or so, enjoy!

YAY :)! congrats on winning my nom gringa!

🍋Oh wow ! That pie looks soooo awesome , Mmmmmmm !🍋 And i loved the photo of you with your sisters and brother lol! Very funny looks like your all haveing a great time ! Thanks so much for shareing ! Have a safe trip home ! 👍😋

You are such an awesome commenter. Your words just put a smile on my face!

It looks delicious! Very nice pictures aswell :-)

Thanks @playfulfoodie, your support is much appreciated

1302 votes (yes, I know about 800 of those are phantom) and only @2.13. That is my favorite!

We are about to fix the low post value :)

Awesome, thanks so much, I really appreciate it

2302 votes

Apparently I cannot read. You're right, 2302.

you are welcome

The lemon pie looks really delicious!

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and your kind words

You are very much welcome! :)

your culinary skills are always blowing me away!

You are always too kind. Thanks for taking the time to comment @doitvoluntarily

Your post is the best of the best for me today!

That is so nice of you to say. Thanks so much @stratilatkryuko

Bright, beautiful, cheerful and very tasty! )

What an awesome comment, thanks so much @natalyaborqo

Mmmmm, looks amazing! Nice pics!

Thanks so much @oceansoul13, that is so nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71