How To Make Raised Donuts - Food Photo Shoot & RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You always wanted to know how to make raised donuts, yes?

3rd-Blogiversery-and-a-Doughnut-Cake-2pic.jpg

How do YOU spell donut? Or is it doughnut?

These donuts turned out fabulous, I am really happy with the recipe and the photos. You should give them a try, you make a lot of people very happy, you'll thank me later.

3rd-Blogiversery-and-a-Doughnut-Cake-2.jpg

RECIPE

Yield: 16-18 doughnuts

Ingredients

Doughnuts:
1 cup warm milk (not hot)
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons butter, melted
4 1/2 - 5 cups all purpose flour
about 2 quarts of oil for frying

Glaze:
1/3 cup whole milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 tablespoons butter, melted
4 1/2 cups powdered sugar
sprinkles, white or dark chocolate, food dye, cocoa powder

Instructions

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with beater attachment (or a large bowl), dissolve yeast in milk and allow to sit for about 5 minutes until bubbly. Beat in eggs and sugar, then butter and salt until combined. Add about 4 cups flour, one cup at a time, until your dough comes together and pull away from the sides. Now switch the attachment to a dough hook and add up to 1 cup more flour as need until the dough is smooth and resilient. Cover bowl with a damp towel or plastic wrap and place in warm place to rise until doubled in size. (Alternatively, you can refrigerate the dough overnight.)
  2. When dough is ready, roll it out on a lightly floured surface into a layer about 1/2 inch thick. Use a circular cookie cutter with a diameter of about 3 inches (or you can use the mouth of an inverted cup) to cut out circles. (Feel free to use any cookie cutter shapes you'd like. I used a heart, a flower, and a 3.) Place the doughnuts on a tray and allow them to rise for 30 to 45 minutes.
  3. After they've been rising for close to 25 minutes, heat oil to 350 degrees F (180 C) in a deep fryer or wide pot and line a plate with paper towels. Drop doughnuts, a few at a time, gently into oil and fry on each side for about 1 minute or until golden brown. Remove with a slotted spoon and place on prepared plate.
  4. Glaze: Whisk the milk, vanilla, and salt in a medium mixing bowl until completely smooth. Add about 3 1/2 cups of the powdered sugar and stir well. As you remove the hot dounghnuts from the grease, allow them to cool for a few moments until you can handle them but they are still hot; dip them into glaze. Set them on a parchment lined tray to dry.
  5. After you've glazed all the doughnuts, stir in the melted butter to the glaze and add the remaining powdered sugar. Pour the thickened icing into one or more shallow dishes and add either food coloring or a small amount of cocoa powder to your taste/color preference. Dip the tops of doughnuts one by one in your glazes and place back on tray to dry. Sprinkle on any toppings you want such as chocolate, sprinkles, or even cereal is fun!

3rd-Blogiversery-and-a-Doughnut-Cake-6.jpg

So, for my followers, I will be leaving in about 2 hours for Santiago. I will be there until Saturday. So, my posts will be sparatic, but I will do my best to get some out there. They'll be focused on travel and Santiago of course, but I'm sure I'll add some food in there from time to time.

3rd-Blogiversery-and-a-Doughnut-Cake-4.jpg

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Almost 100% of my posts and/ or photos are cross posted at my website which you can find out more in my INTRO POST.

3rd-Blogiversery-and-a-Doughnut-Cake-2.jpg




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

I think I am going to rename you 'decadent Gringalicious' {smile}... all that tempting sweetness.

That is so nice for you to say, thanks so much!

These beautiful desserts. Almost in our holidays. Happy trip :)

Have some good times traveling! I am sure it will be a blast!

Thanks so much @meesterboom. I love it when people actually read my post, thanks. And, thank you for the well wishes on my travel.

It is nice when they are read isn't it!!

Yay, more doughnuts ( : Thanks for the grand post once more. They do look good.

Thanks so much for the kind words @ddschteinn

Delicious! They are very beautiful and colorful donuts! (I prefer to spell like this because it's shorter than "doughnut") ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.94 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm ready to eat all your sweets what you will show me :)

Ahh -- first the cake doughnuts to get us warmed up. And then the raised donuts -- the best. And yes, I spell each kind differently, they are that different of a food! I really like how you got those pastel icing colors. Did they come that way, intended to make pastel icing? Happy travels! At least you can be powered by donuts! ; D

I use natural food coloring and those are some of the deepest colors I can get using the natural. Thanks for the well wishes on the travels, I am in Santiago now, enjoying a cup of coffee at the moment

Looks delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49