🎄 Holiday Cookies - ROMANCE COOKIE BARS 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Did you every see the movie "ELF,' with Will Farrel? "SANTA IS COMING, OMG!! SANTA IS COMING!"

FIRST, let me say that the name 'Romance' is what my family for generations has called this cookie bar. Nobody knows why, that's just the name. I promise it wasn't click-bait to get you to read my post, but hey, since you're here, you should read on.

I am not sure if they'll inspire Romance amongst those eating them, but I can promise you that if you try this and take a bite, you will fall in love with the person that made it.

I haven't tweaked it much, very little really. But I am such a control freak, I had to put a little twist on it.

Most of my posts are my creations that I dreamed up or at least have tweaked in a major way that they do not resemble what inspired me in the first place. But these, I will admit, have been around our family for-EVER. Even my great-grandmas were making this recipe.

These make a great presentation on any holiday desert platter. People cannot help themselves when they see these.

RECIPE

Ingredients

Bottem Layer:
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups all-purpose flour

Top Layer:
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup chopped pecans (or favorite nut)
1/2 cup shredded coconut flakes (I use unsweetened but sweetened will work)
powdered sugar for dusting top

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF (180ºC) and grease a 13x9 inch pan with butter. Beat butter until creamed then add sugar, salt, and flour and mix well. Press dough into prepared pan and bake for about 10 minutes until very lightly browned on top. Remove from oven and cool while you mix topping.
  2. Beat eggs and brown sugar together well. Add vanilla, baking powder, and 2 tablespoons flour. Mix in pecans and coconut flakes and pour over bottem layer. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes until it barely jiggles when pan is nudged. Remove and cool completely then sprinkle top with powdered sugar. Cut into bars and serve.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.


m




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

      

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81