🎄 Eggnog Vanilla Bean Streusel Muffins 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 🎅steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE EVERYBODY!!

For those of you that wanted one more idea for a Christmas recipe:

So these sweet crumbly muffins, I feel like they’re just the answer you need for all that eggnog you’ve probably got leftover in your fridge. I mean, if you share any of my enthusiasm for the holidays then maybe you’ll understand when I say how downright depressing it is for me to have eggnog around more than a few days after the season ends. Well, and if you aren’t a fan of nog in the first place then maybe you can at least try to imagine feeling that way. Like I said, it’s depressing. Oh, and I guess there’s the possibility that you like eggnog so much that there’s no way you’d ever have it leftover. In that case I bet you can catch a great discount now that the grocery stores will be clearing it out, or maybe you make it at home like I do so you can just whip up some more. Have you ever tried making it, it’s super easy? Here’s my recipe if you want to try it. I love doing it homemade because it’s usually the perfect way to use all my extra egg yolks leftover from making royal icing for my gingerbread each year.

The flavor vanilla bean compliments the eggnog perfectly and the topping is probably the best part! I’ve said before that muffins without some kind of topping are like less popular cousins of cupcakes and I stand firm in that opinion. There simply has to be streusel on top or no deal.

Okay, I hope you try them and if you do I’d love to know what you think. Have a great weekend guys!

RECIPE

Ingredients

Muffins:
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup oil (any neutrally flavored oil should be fine)
1 egg
1 cup eggnog
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 vanilla bean
1 1/4 cups flour

Streusel:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1/2 cup granular sugar
1/2 cup flour
1 tablespoon eggnog
1 vanilla bean
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease a 12-count muffin tin with oil (or line with paper cups if preferred).
  2. Cream butter and sugar for streusel in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add the vanilla bean scrapings, nutmeg, salt, and flour and stir until combined into a crumbly mixture, then add the eggnog and mix until it comes together into a dough. Now scrape out the streusel into a separate bowl and set aside so you can reuse mixing bowl for muffin batter,
  3. Mix the oil and sugar in the bowl. Add egg and eggnog and beat on low until combined. Mix in soda, baking powder, nutmeg, salt, vanilla extract, and vanilla bean scrapings. Mix in flour last until your batter is smooth.
  4. Spoon batter into the slots in prepared pans and fill to the rim (you should get around 9 muffins). Crumble half of your streusel mixture and crumble it over the top of each muffin then place in oven for 10 to 12 minutes, then remove from oven and quickly crumble the rest of your streusel crumb over them, then rotate the pan and return to oven for another 10 to 12 minutes, or until tops are browned and a toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven and cool for at least 5 minutes the loosen from pan and place on a cooling rack to finish cooling or devour while still warm.
  5. Store in an air-tight container.

I realize that only a very few will read this, but for those of you who do, I wish you a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.. And I must say, that I am beginning to understand steemit rage quit. My post yesterday garnered a whole $0.57, which in my opinion is detrimental to my reputation.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

Hello @gringalicious,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.17 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you and Merry Christmas!

You are welcome!!

You have inspired me!! I can't cook but now I will go out to brunch and see what I can find like this ;) Yummmy :) Merry Christmas!

I am so glad I was able to inspire! Yes, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Merry Christmas to you @gringalicious!

Thank you @runrudy! And, a Happy New Year!!

Thanks @gringalicious... You have a MERRY CHRISTMAS, too!!!

I hope we will be talking before next week, but if not, Happy New Year as well!

Congratulations, your post is part of the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 070!

PS: Merry Christmas!

Awesome, thanks so much!!

Looks really good. I would double up on the vanilla!

Double up on the vanilla, sounds great!!

Very cool Christmas card. Merry Christmas to your and your family Papa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90