EASY TOASTED BUTTER PECAN FRITTERS (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

I could easily deny it and try to convince you otherwise, but I might as well just admit the obvious -> I’m having a huge moment with pecans this year.

Is it not that obvious? Ah, well I guess that’s because I’ve had to hold back my enthusiasm and not use them nearly as much as I’d like. The reason is that we have to ration the small supply we have (super sad face). Unfortunately they don’t grow or sell them here in Chile at all. If it wasn’t for that I’d probably just add them to each and every recipe from now until the holiday season is over. It’s amazes me, the way pecans can add flavor to anything and everything you put them in, especially once they’re toasted. Don’t you just love things that fit into the category of ‘a little goes a long way’? Yeah, me too!

With it being the Holiday season, I’ve been baking more than usual (Ha, if that’s even a possibility) and like I said, I’ve wanted to add pecans to everything lately. The fact is that, like most kids, I never liked them much when I was younger and it wasn’t until recent years that I discovered how delicious they are. Now it’s like I’ve suddenly got the urge to make up for all of that lost time when I could have been appreciating them.
On a side note, do you remember me telling you about the new laptop I got two weekends ago? Well now that I’ve had it this long I’ve gotta tell you, it’s been so, so nice. Things have seemed easier to keep organized and it’s like having a clean slate to work with. I’ve spent a good amount of time these past few weeks trying to move pictures, save files, and back up all the stuff that I should have already saved ages ago. Basically, the laptop has been the perfect temporary cure for my longterm procrastination of the tedious little details that I always seem to skip. I say “temporary” because in the back of my mind I’m already resigned to the fact that I’ll procrastinate it all again later when the newness of my laptop wears off. Haha, oh the irony of procrastinating my own procrastination.

But anyway, let’s talk about these fritters. As I mentioned in the post title, these are super easy you guys. I mean, there’re probably a lot of recipes that I’d consider easy even though to some of you they probably seem very complicated, but I’ve been trying to be extra conscious of that and make sure that when I tell you something is simple it really is. Well these fritters really are simple and you’ve totally got this thing, I know it.

That’s why I made them in the first place actually, because a few in the gang were craving doughnuts the other day and I just wasn’t in the mood to wait on the yeasted kind to rise so I had the bright idea to simply make fritters. Yes, they’re a completely different thing than a yeast doughnut but that doesn’t mean they’re any less amazing! If you are already at all familiar with frying then these should be a piece of cake because that’s the hardest part. Other than that all you’ve gotta do is whisk up your batter and try not to eat it all by the spoonful if you’re a fan of cake batter.

Oh also, something else I added to these was a few spoons of strong coffee, does that seem unusual to you? Surprisingly, the flavor doesn’t stand out on it’s own, it just adds depth and makes the flavor of the toasted pecans that much yummier. You have to try it! OOooh, and if you want to add a little more sweetness to these then try drizzling them in caramel or dipping them in maple syrup. I’ve also added chocolate chips along with or in place of the pecans and both ways were incred!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.

RECIPE

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes

Yield: 20 - 24 fritters

Ingredients

1/2 cup pecans
3 tablespoons butter, divided
1 egg
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1.2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 tablespoons black coffee
2 cups flour
neutral flavored oil for frying
Powdered sugar for serving

Instructions

A. Add 1 tablespoon of butter and the pecans to a small saucepan or skillet over medium high heat and stir constantly for 3 to 4 minutes until they start to darken and brown on the edges. Remove the pan from heat and pour them onto a separate bowl or plate
B. Melt the other 2 tablespoons of butter and whisk together with the sugar and egg in a medium mixing bowl. Add the salt, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla, coffee and buttermilk and stir well, then whisk in the flour until you have a very thick batter. Add the pecans last and stir to combine.
C. Heat about 1 quart of oil in a high-sided skillet or dutch oven (or a deep-fryer) to around 350 degrees F (180C) if using a thermometer or just medium high heat.
D. Use a dough scoop or large tablespoon to carefully drop about 2 tablespoon sized scoops of the batter into the hot oil. Cook for about 90 seconds on each side, or until golden brown. Remove from oil to a plate lined with paper towels and cool for about 5 minutes. Dust generously with powdered sugar and serve immediately. (P.S. These are also great drizzled and/or dipped in maple syrup, chocolate syrup, or even caramel!!!)




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

So glad you liked it! STEEM ON!

Those might just be the cookies santa will get this year from my home!

That's a fantastic idea!

Looks so good!
Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome, thanks for commenting!

I do love pecans with anything and everything, these sound and look amazing :)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. Words of encouragement are always greatly appreciated

Just solid photography here! Just wonderful.

It looks amazing! Very nice!

Thanks so much!! STEEM ON!!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.98 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I guess pecans are not optional here. :-)

if you had to, you could use walnuts

Or BOTH.....

Or both, you're absolutely correct!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93