CRANBERRY WHITE CHOCOLATE SWIRLED DANISHES 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE INCLUDED 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

It’s mid December my friends, can you even believe it?

I’m slightly freaking out here, but I guess it’s possible that that’s part of what makes this season so fun, all the rush. (Ha, it’s safer than skydiving) I’m excited because I think this year is going to be one of, if not, the best ever. In fact, it’s already been a great month.

So anyway, these danishes were something I came up with a few weeks ago, right after Thanksgiving actually. I was trying to think of something to make with this jar of leftover homemade cranberry sauce that I refused to let spoil because it had far to much value to me. How I wish I could tell you that I had made it myself, but unfortunately I have no clue where to get fresh cranberries here. All I know is that they do have them somewhere as proved by this cranberry sauce I’m talking about. It was given to us by a recent acquaintance of my Mom’s. Cranberries are a huge export of Chile, but we cannot buy them in the stores, wierd.

Speaking of which, would someone please remind me to hunt this woman down sometime between now and next Thanksgiving and demand info on how to get them. I need sources people! I’m thinking there could be black market deals and mafia involved here but I prepared to go all out to get my hands on them.

I’ve been asked by my sisters to make danishes a few times recently and they seemed like a perfect option. I will say that there are different types of danishes I’ve tried in the past, some using puff pastry or crescent dough, and they have their own merits. However, there is definitely something to be said about these much easier ones using a simple yeast dough. I guess that applies more if you’re planning to make them from scratch, if we’re getting real, puff pastry is not something I’m willing to make everyday ’cause it takes a lot of patience. These though, super easy.

Alright, and now that I’ve introduced these sweet treats I think we’re good here. I’d love to know what you think of these if you do decide to try them!

By the way, this weekend, I obtained the reputation score of 69, I surpassed 500 followers and I surpassed over 3100 posts. Not a bad weekend, even if I do say so myself.

ENJOY

RECIPE

Ingredients

Dough:
1 cup warm milk (not hot)
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
2 eggs
1/2 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup (about 6 tablespoons) butter, melted
5 cups all purpose flour

Cranberry Filling:
1 cup jellied cranberry sauce (smooth or chunky)
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 cup (about 150g) white chocolate chips or chunks
powdered sugar for dusting (optional)

Instructions

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer (or a large bowl), dissolve yeast in milk and allow to sit for about 5 minutes until bubbly. Beat in eggs and sugar, then butter and salt until combined. Add flour a cup at a time until your dough comes together and starts to pull away from the sides of bowl. Cover bowl with a damp towel or plastic wrap and place in warm place to rise until doubled in size. (Alternatively, you can refrigerate the dough overnight and have it ready for a quick breakfast. Just pull it out about an hour before you want to use it.)
  2. Meanwhile, make your filling, Beat cranberry sauce, sugar, butter, vanilla, and lemon in a medium mixing bowl until well combined.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and line a baking tray with parchment. On a lightly floured surface, roll out dough into a rectangle, about 1/4 inch tall. Spread the cranberry filling mixture to cover the dough in an even layer and sprinkle with white chocolate. Fold one half of the dough, matching the shorter sides, over the filling to sort of enclose it like an envelope. 4. 4. Now cut into 14 - 16 strips (longways) and, one at a time, gently start twisting the corners of each strip and stretch into a rope. Twist into spirals and place on parchment tray. [Note: some the filling will be sure to squeeze out as you twist them, that's okay. Just make sure to do it on a clean surface and then you can spoon the excess over the finished spirals just before baking.]
  4. Bake for 18 - 20 minutes until edges start to brown. Remove pan(s) from oven and allow the to cool for about 5 minutes before serving.
  5. Sprinkle with powdered sugar if desired.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

      

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Your photography is beyond comparison. Simply the best food photos on steemit. Awesome contribution!

Wow, huge compliment. Not sure I deserve it, but it sounds amazing and I will take it on this Monday. **STEEM ON!!

I have to agree with @bkkshadow. Your picture quality is top-notch. I hope your cooking/baking skills can match it!

Well, I have 13 other judges in my house on a daily basis. Not that many complaints. Thanks so much for the super huge compliment!!

Yummy, Yummy, Yummy, as always your posts look delightful.

You are so kind!! Thanks so much for the sweet compliment

STEEM ON!!

Very Christmasie ! And you know I love Chocolate! It looks delicious , a definite win,win for me ! Thanks for shareing! 👌👍✌

You are so welcome @karenmckersie - You have a great day!

OMG! It looks So good :)

Thank you @funnyman, thanks so much for the compliment

Great photos indeed! Uh i just have to try these!!

I hope you do give it a shot. Let me know how it turns out

They look amazing!

You're so kind. Thanks so much!

These are the sort of thing I used to adore, back in the days of sugar sugar sugar! They look amazing @gringalicious

maybe I should consider putting the days of sugar sugar sugar in the past. I'll think about it. Thanks so much for commenting!

By the way, this weekend, I obtained the reputation score of 69, I surpassed 500 followers and I surpassed over 3100 posts. Not a bad weekend, even if I do say so myself.

Wow, you've come a long way in a short period of time. That's what happens when you diligently create excellent content day after day. Congrats and keep up the great work!

oh, wow, it is super good to hear from you! Your help back in August is without question is a big part of anything I have accomplished. Thank you for your kind and patient help. Your support is and has been greatly appreciated.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

that looks sooo delicious :))

Thanks so much @allasyummyfood. Congrats on your post yesterday, I saw it did really well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61