COOKIES AND CREAM CHOCOLATE POP-TARTS (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians!  Here's an idea for breakfast for tomorrow morning OR dessert tonight, you pick.



All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G,  ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! I often post my content to my website Gringalicious.com 



And one other note:  This post is basically a do-over.  This was one of my early posts that bombed big time. This is my fourth time of reposting early content from my noob days (that was so like a month ago).  If anyone has issue with me reposting 'do-overs,' please let me know in the comments. 



So, about these pop-tarts:   basically, these are a Trader Joe's Joe-Joe version of a pop-tart since you’ve got the dark chocolate cookie and the white vanilla cream going on in a perfect ratio. Then you add an huge amount of actual cookie crumbs to the filling and a sprinkle on the top just to over do it.




I made these for my family back in June, and let me tell you, they were a huge hit.



RECIPE

Prep Time: 1 hour

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour, 25 minutes

Yield: about 22 pop-tarts

Ingredients

Pastry Dough:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 6 tablespoons lard, coconut oil, or vegetable shortening
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) cold butter, cubed
  • 1/2 - 2/3 cup ice cold water

Filling:

  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1 1/3 cups broken/chopped sandwich cookies (i.e. jojos or oreos)

Icing:

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup more cookie pieces

Instructions

Dough:

  1. Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, and salt in the bowl of food processor and pulse. Add butter and lard and pulse a few times more until crumbly. Add water and process until the dough comes together, adding a tiny bit more water if necessary until it pulls away from the sides of bowl..
  2. Filling:
  3. Stir butter and milk together in the bowl of stand mixer or a medium mixing bowl until smooth. Add salt, vanilla, and cornstarch and stir to combine. Mix in powdered sugar a cup at a time until combined then beat until fluffy. Add cookie pieced and beat just long enough to mix them into filling.

Assemble:

  1. Roll pastry dough out on a lightly floured surface into a rectangle roughly 1/8 inch thick. Cut into smaller rectangles, about 2 1/2 x 5 inch pieces.
  2. Spoon about 1 heaping tablespoon of filling onto the centers of half of the rectangles you've cut and spread to within 1/2 inch from edges, then rub edges with water. Place the other half of the pieces on top of fillings and use a fork or your fingers to crimp the ends together to seal well. Place on a parchment lined baking tray about 1/4 inch apart and place tray in refrigerator for about 30 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). When oven is ready, remove trays from fridge and bake for 10 - 12 minutes until the edges are starting to darken and crisp. Remove tray from oven and cool tarts completely before adding icing.



 AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO @rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

 I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

 

Sort:  

come by and you can have as many as you like

Mmmmmmm! I want one right now! They look so delicious! Thanks for shareing i will make these soon! 😋😚😉

Thank you for the compliment @karenmckersie - Steem ON!

I'm getting hungry just looking at this... and it's breakfast time here... :)

I hope it inpires you to create something amazing. - thank you for commenting!! - Steem ON!

Never have I ever seen a homemade poptart. Looks great though! I can't keep oreos around the house though. Let's just say the temptations would be a little too strong :p :D :)

I understand, it's a problem, no doubt - Steem ON!

@gringalicious, I wish you're my neighbor.
I want one for my coffee :)

these would be amazing with coffee, no doubt - Steem ON!

Mmmmmm... drool... slobber... What else is there to say? :-)

Great feedback, thanks so much. Steem On!

I love love chocolate! Will definitely be trying this! I didn't know you have a website. Will check it out! You have a follower as well ;)

Muchas Gracias

These look so good! You always make me crave sweets!

So glad I could be there for you

These are so cute!

Muchas Gracias. That means a lot coming from @gardenofeden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77