CLASSIC SCOTCH EGGS, Baked or Fried ( FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE ) Announcing Winner of Steem GiveawaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

Announcing the winner of my "GRINGALICIOUS IS ASKING, WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO CREATE?!" Steem Giveaway.

Big huge shout out and mention to @macksby for this suggestion

Here is the text of the suggestion by @macksby "This might sound a little weird but when you mentioned those 1950's diners (the diner is disappearing) in your banana split post -- I got a vivid memory of spending every Sunday after my hockey game (win or lose) my Dad would take a bunch of us to the diner and I would have a giant hot open MEATLOAF sandwich.., and there was a hard boiled egg in the middle. It would freak me out, for some reason (in a good way). Haven't thought about that for years!"

In MY ANNOUNCEMENT POST I said "..tell me about one of your favorite foods or food memories. What food smells trigger supper happy thoughts and make you all warm and fuzzy." ...."The steemian that gives me the request that inspires me the most will of course receive a big huge mention in that future post, plus 50 Steem."

Well this is super ironic, I must admit that I already had this recipe in the works for today's post, not having any idea that someone would suggest something so close. Yes, I acknowledge that my post today is not exactly an open face meatloaf sandwich, but you have got to admit that the boiled egg inside is the clincher, am I right? Please note that @macksby was the only one to included a little background story to his suggestion. Hey, my contest my rules right?

So, as a result the winner of the 50 Steem is @macksby

Alright, but now it’s recipe time, Scotch eggs! Have you ever heard of them before. If not, don’t feel left out because neither had I until a few years ago when I got into the foodie world.

When I did finally learn what they were I was so excited to make them and I’ve been wanting to do it ever since but kept putting it off. For anyone who didn’t already know, a Scotch egg is boiled egg that’s been peeled, wrapped in sausage, dipped in breading, and then deep fried (or in some cases baked). Basically, we’re talking a guy’s perfect dream food here.

Anyway, these brilliant creations are fairly simple to make and I think I can pretty much guarantee they’ll be a crowd-pleaser. They’re so proper and British feeling but at the same time they can double as a great party food. I was thinking about how the Superbowl is coming up very soon

RECIPE

Ingredients

5 eggs, divided
1 pound ground pork or sausage
1 tablespoon worchestershire
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup water
1 cup seasoned dry breadcrumbs
2/3 cup flour
1 quart of oil for frying (optional)

Instructions

  1. Place the eggs in a small pot and cover with about an inch of water. Place the pot over medium high heat and bring to a boil. Boil the eggs for about 3 minutes then immediately remove them from the hot water and rinse them under ice cold water. Sea them aside to cool completely, then peel them very carefully and set aside.
    2/ Mix the pork, remaining egg, worchestershire, mustard, garlic powder, salt, paparika, and pepper in a stinless steel bowl until well combined, then divide into 4 portions. Flatten each portion, one at a time, into a patty and place one of the boiled eggs in the center. Gently wrap the meat around the egg to seal it completely in meat
  2. Pour the breadcrumbs and flour into two separate shallow bowls or pie pans, then mix the mayo and water in a third. Dip each wrapped egg in the flour, then the mayo/water mixture, then the breadcrumbs and turn to coat all sides.
  3. To bake the eggs, place them on a foil lined baking tray and preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C). Place the tray in the oven and bake for about 24 to 28 minutes until the outside is golden brown and the meat is fully cooked.
  4. To fry them, heat the oil in a deep fryer or large saucepan over medium high heat until it reaches 300 degrees F (150 C) and carefully drop the eggs in. Cook on each side for 3 to 4 minutes until golden brown and crisp. Remove with a slotted spoon and place them on paper towel lined plate to cool.
  5. Serve them hot with any desired condiments.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $30.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 23 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

These look so bomb, I was wondering how you were going to incorporate the connection with the winning suggestion and you nailed it on the head. I would love this for breakfast. Upvoted

I am so glad you got the connection and thought it was good. I really appreciate the feedback!

I store your recipes. It is wonderful!

I am so glad that you feel my creations worthy to store, that means a lot to me. Thanks you so much!!

Those actually look delicous ! I have never tried them but i have heard of them before ! Now that ive seen what they look like im going try them in my new deep fryer ! Mmmmmm ! I will try anything once lol ! Steem on !👍😊

Fantastic, Karen. As always, your comments are great!!

Love a scotch egg!

You beat me to it. I as was going to message you with this post and make sure I didn't make any mistakes. Did I come close?

They are perfect. Absolutely perfect!

Well, there I have it, a certification from an expert

You make great dishes. I admire your blog!

Awesome, I am so glad you like my creations!! That makes me super happy

amazing recipe! you are incredible :)

Again, you are so sweet, thanks so much. Looking at your safari post now

Looks so so yummy :D

This looks super good. Great post!! Maybe tomorrow I will make roman meat loaf for dinner!!

That would be so cool. Please message me when you do. I will try to figure out a way to cross promote it with one of my post perhaps

That would be amazing!! I will make sure to message you then!! But actually tomorrow I am going to make something for SCC so I think I might make the meat loaf later this week. Anyway, I will make sure to let you know :D

Wow, so delicious. Upvoted and resteemed :)

Awesome @chrissyworld, a resteem, an upvote and a comment, trifecta! Thank you so much!

you are most welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72