CHICKEN POT PIE HAND POCKETS ( EMPENADAS ) 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE INCLUDED 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

What happened to this year??!! Can you believe it's almost over?!

I must say that the last few weeks have at least been a great end of the year for me. I think I can also speak for my family here and say they’d all agree with me. Oh hey, and I forgot to mention that we had an earthquake on Christmas day, pretty crazy right? We were actually supposed to have a lightning storm that day but we ended up with an earthquake instead. Then it rained most of the day and I was pretty excited about that too. I know it seems like you’d hope for the opposite but rain is about the closest thing we can have to snow here and it at least helped set the mood for the cozy Christmases of my childhood. I mean, since we can’t have snow, I guess I’m getting more and more willing to settle with what we do get.
But anyway, the earthquake was very strange, it wasn’t the jarring, shaking type that you see on movies. It was like being in a boat or something. Everything seemed to sway and move in slow motion and when it stopped I felt like I’d just ridden the teacup ride at Disneyland. Even for my parents who lived in California during plenty of earthquakes, it seemed different. It was pretty awesome though and a fun addition to our family’s Christmas that was already unique in so many ways.

Another little sidenote, I gave myself a little “boo-boo” on Christmas Eve and it’s been pretty annoying over this past week to say the least. Yeah, I sort of wasn’t paying enough attention while chopping something and I got my finger pretty good. Man, I didn’t realize how messy my typical daily life has gotten until now when I can’t get up to my usual shenanigans. I’m hoping it heals quickly because it’s really starting to drive me nuts.

The good thing is that I’ve had very little cooking to do this week because, oopsy, I made way too much food over the weekend, Way too much. Not that my ginourmous family has any problem putting it all away but it’s annoying to me because I can’t bring myself to cook anything new with so much already in the fridge, and besides there’s no space even if I could. I’ve been able to get some stuff done though, a little Spring cleaning and some behind-the-blog-scenes organiazation.

Speaking of that, we’re planning a little New Year’s Eve party this year so I’ve been having fun brainstorming what things I want to make for it. I think we’re going to keep it simple and only serve appetizers and small stuff so it’ll be the cute fun-size foods that I love to make, yay!

Alrighty then, I should probably get to telling you about these pockets. This was actually one of the recipes I made to include in our Christmas Day menu and I was happy that they went over so well. They’re pretty self explanatory just with their name I think, but to sum it up they’re basically empanandas filled with all the goodness of a classic chicken pot pie. The best part is that everyone loved them. I was thinking how great they’d be for any game night or football bowl parties you might have going on this month. Talk about a crowd pleaser, I mean, these are like little pockets of comfort food sunshine and happiness!

RECIPE

Yield: 16 - 18 empanadas

Ingredients

2 cups cooked chicken, cut into small cubes
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 medium red potatoes (peeled if desired), chopped into small cubes
1 extra large carrot, chopped
2 cups chicken stock or broth
1 cup sweet peas
1 cup whole kernal corn
1/2 teaspoon celery seed
1/2 cup whole milk
1/4 cup flour
salt and pepper to taste
1 18-count package empanada wrappers for baking or you can make them using the pastry in this recipe
1 egg + 1 tablespoon water

Instructions

  1. In a large skillet, saute onion, garlic, carrots, and potatoes for 6 to 7 minutes until browned. Pour in chicken broth, celery seed, peas, and corn, and bring to a boil. Cook for about 25 minutes, stirring occssionally until potatoes are fork tender then reduce heat to medium low.
  2. Whisk milk and flour in a small bowl until smooth and pour into pot. Continue stirring until mixture begins to thicken. Add chicken, then salt and pepper to taste then remove from heat and allow it to cool for about 15 minutes.
  3. Heat oven to 375 degrees F (190 C). Spoon about 3 tablespoons of filling into the center of each wrapper. Wet the edges with water and and fold in half to form little half-moon shaped empanadas. Press edges together to seal and place them on a parchment lined baking tray. Use a sharp knife to make small slits in each empanada to vent while baking. Whisk the egg and water in a small bowl and brush it onto the the empanadas with a pastry brush to coat well.
  4. Bake for 25 - 30 minutes until they start to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.



AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Hey, that looks delicious, and sorry to hear you cut yourself, that must be painful and irritating, I def know the feeling of a packed fridge and cooking too much, but it's generally a good problem to have. This year is nearly finished, it went by crazy fast, well, nice post once again. I hope you got my other reply about your book idea. All the best, Upvoted

Thanks so much @verbal-d. Yes, got your book response. I am looking at lulu.com to see if that is a way to go or not. Yes, packed fridge is a good problem to have, no doubt. Thanks for your continued support and look forward to rocking out the new year, it will be an adventure!

STEEM ON!!

You're very welcome, thanks for the tip and again best of success to your future book. And indeed, this new year shall be exciting. Steemin' on

Another yummilicious post @gringalicious! The photos also make this--great photography as well.

Super kind words @everlove, thanks so much!!

Wow, they look delicious. Thank you for sharing the pics.

Thank you @talanhorne, thank you for taking the time to comment and for your compliment.

Mmmmm! I'm starving now for some reason ! Lol thanks for sharing ! I will definitly try these as I really like and have made little pot pies before , I didn't know I could buy these kinds of wrappers ! Thanks for the tip ! Steem on ! 👍😉

I am not sure how common these wrappers will be in your neck of the woods. You may have to go to one of those 'whole food' type grocery stores in order to find them. Empenadas are like hamburgers here, so they are readily available on all the grocery stores.

OK thanks ! I will keep my eyes peeled for them ! Or phone around first ! 👍✌

looks delicious

Looks like a tasty alternative to cornish pasties:)

I guess you could say that. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @thecryptofiend

You're welcome!

hmm... nyammy

I assume that's a compliment? Thanks for taking the time to comment!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 27 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Looking delicious as always @gringalicious. One day I'll get the courage to actually try making some of your recipes. Not as well as you do of course. :)

Sweet words. I hope you do give it a try, you'll impress yourself, I am sure.

I don't have to cut myself as part of the recipe do I? ;)

No, you can leave that part out

It is an offense to publish, when I'm at work, and the dinner is still far)))))

I do apologize. I will keep this in mind in my future posts. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @yeteras!

Do not take my comments seriously, it was a joke, your dish looks incredible!!

Oh, I was trying to be funny in my reply, I knew it was a joke. I don't know how to write comedy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61904.26
ETH 2409.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68