CHICKEN CHILI STUFFED SWEET POTATOES 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

I have an exciting recipe to share with you today

Side Note: I discovered something you should never do the other day, spill boiling roasted plum juice all over your foot. Ouch, that was a total kitchen fail. However, the BBQsauceI made with those plums will be coming soon and that wasn’t a fail.

Also, it’s been really strange/sad around our house the past few days because one of my my little sisters left bright and early Monday morning for a big adventure trip that’s been in the planning for weeks. She’s going to be camping down in the Southern part of Chile with some close friends of our family for the next week and a half. It sounds like she’s having the time of her life so far and that makes me happy. I still miss her like crazy though. My Dad is having a melt down over it though. First time she has been away from home.

Okay, but now I need to talk about these sweet potatoes. I know you can stuff sweet potatoes with so many things but chili is like the perfect match. This is a really simple chili that I made for dinner over the weekend and the truth is that these potatoes were inspired by me wanting to use the leftovers.

These make such a great weeknight dinner to have ready to go too. They’re so filling and always a crowd pleaser. You can pile it with so many delicious topping too. I left it at salsa, sour cream, and avocado slices for ours but feel free to throw on some cheese, diced onion, hot sauce, or even some crunchy chip crumbs. Go wild and make them your own! I’d love to know what you think in the comments as well so let me know. What are you going to top yours with?

RECIPE

Yield: 4 - 6

Ingredients

6 medium sweet potatoes, baked until fork tender

Chili:
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 red or jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
1 cup tomato paste
2 cups chicken stock
2 cups water, plus a little more as needed
3 tablespoons worchestershire
1 tablespoon liquid smoke
2 1/2 - 3 cups cooked beans, rinsed (I used a combination of lentils, kidney beans, black beans, and white beans)
1 teaspoon black pepper, plus more to taste
2 teaspoons sea salt, plus more to taste
1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
2 cups cooked chicken breast, cubed

Optional Toppings:
salsa
sliced avocado or guacamole
chives or green onions
sour cream

Instructions

Chili:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large pot or dutch oven over medium high heat. Add onion, garlic, and pepper and cook for 1 to 2 minutes until onions are translucent. Add tomato paste, chicken stock, water, and beans to pot and reduce heat to medium low. Add remaining ingredients for chili and stir very well, then reduce heat to low and allow chili to simmer for at least 30 minutes to develop flavor and thicken up.

Stuffed Potatoes:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 C) and line a baking tray with foil.
  2. Slit your sweet potatoes down the center lengthwise and use a fork to mash them a little and make a place to pour the chili. Set them on the prepared tray and scoop large spoonfuls of chili into each potato. Place tray in the oven and bake for 15 to 20 minutes until tops are browned and potatoes are nice and hot. Remove from oven and cool for a few then serve while they're hot with whatever toppings you'd like.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Ha - congratulations on making a post with leftovers! That's great! And every pot of chili should be big enough to make plenty of leftovers! Your post is great at getting people to think about sweet potatoes more than the usual marshmallow-topped puree.

Glad to hear your sister is having a great time camping.

You are always such a thoughtful commenter. I appreciate the time and care you give to your words.

Thanks. I do enjoy your posts.

Sweet potato + chicken chili + avocado? Pure Genius!
Not sure when I'll get a chance to make this, but I know it will be a hit when I do. My wife loves both, sweet potatoes and chicken chili. Gratitude!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment @paradise-found

It seem amazing..
I like your cook..Thank you for sharing :)

You are welcome and thank you for commenting @djsonic

im following you, looks deliciuos

That's awesome @coliraver, thanks so much!

Such an interesting combination of foods. Nice post!

Always delicious upvoted

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This looks so delicious! You make it look like it's so easy to make, though I doubt that I could ever create something this presentable. Your presentation skills are off the charts, and one might argue that you've definitely cemented yourself as one of the most prominent food bloggers here on Steemit.

I see that you've followed me (such a huge honor!) I've followed you back :D

Such awesome, kind words, thanks so much. I don't know how prominent I am, but thank you for the huge compliment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27