CAJUN BLACK BEAN AND CHORIZO DIRTY RICE - 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! It's SATURDAY! Busy weekend planned? How about an easy idea for dinner tonight?! Or for that matter, any night or any time of day.

I have done chocolate two days in a row now, no let's give savory a try. Don't worry you insane choco-holics, I'll hook you up again soon, don't worry.

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. Most every time, I cross post on my personal blog which you can find in my INTRO POST.

My Dad loves dirty rice. When I was growing up, he would make it often. So the smell of this dish totally reminds me of him. He shared some secrets with me and I think I make it as good as him.

Here in Chile, Chorizo is one of the most popular and best sausages. It has heavy German influence. In fact, our favorite Chorizo is manufactured by a German company in Valdivia.

If you can master a good batch of beans and rice, then you're set. I think within my lifetime, we'll be a lot more acquainted with beans and rice, so I might as well practice now. Really, it's all in the spices.

Of course for you vegetarians, you can leave the meat out and you're set.

I hope you give it a try, YOU'LL THANK ME LATER

RECIPE

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups uncooked brown rice
2 tablespoons butter
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeño pepper, finely minced
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 small green and 1 small red bell pepper,(seeds and stem removed) diced
3 large stalks celery, finely chopped
1 small bunch radishes, finely chopped with stems removed
1 pound Chorizo sausage, cut into slices
1 1/2 cups cooked black beans
2 cups chicken or beef stock
1 tablespoon Cajun seasoning (recipe follows)
salt & pepper
Cajun Seasoning Mix:
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons garlic powder
2 teaspoons onion powder
2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 1/4 teaspoons dried oregano
1 1/4 teaspoons dried basil
4 bay leaves

Instructions

Bring 3 cups of water to a boil in a small pot and add brown rice. Reduce heat to simmer, cover, and cook for 20 to 30 minutes, checking every 5, until most of the water is absorbed then remove from heat and set aside.
While rice cooks, add butter to a large skillet with lid and place over medium high heat. Add garlic, jalapeño, onion, bell peppers, celery, and radishes to pan and cook for 6 to 8 minutes until celery and radishes are softened. Scoot veggies to the sides of pan and add Chorizo. Cook for 4 to 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until browned. Reduce heat to medium low and add stock, brown rice, black beans, and Cajun seasoning to pan and cover. Stir occasionally and cook covered for 20 to 25 minutes until liquid is absorbed. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve hot.
If making the Cajun seasoning, blend all ingredients together in blender or food processor until loose and powdery.




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME

PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER

Sort:  

That, is how I like my food! Well done!

I am so glad you liked it. Thanks so much for compliment -

STEEM ON!

Bringing on some spice for the weekend. :-)

You are absolutely correct!

love, love, love Chorizo :) miss it like crazy at the moment
this is a great dish and one thats just right for a Saturday night with vino and a film....
great pics :)

Vino, you are absolutely correct. What vino would you suggest?

ooo now thats a good question - for me it would have to be a red - Merlot or Cabinet Savingon - full body , that always brings out the Chirozo :)

How about a Chilean Carmenère?

oooo thats sounds nice - will have to look that one up - won't get it in Egypt at the moment, but on return to lands where alcohol is allowed, will have a look for this- always happy to try out new vino:)

It's lunch time here this would do nicely

I hope you give it a try! Thanks for taking the time to comment!

great post @gringalicious unfortunatly I don't have all ingredients for this recipe I can't try :( next time maybe

you can always just use what you have on hand.

Again an amazing recipe. I was wondering if you have any suggestions what to change rice into? I am on a very-low-carb diet.

Cauliflower will work.

Always great and nice delicious food :D

Thanks @levycore - Thanks for taking the time to comment

Fantastic, thanks so much!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Looks divine as usual!

Remember to let me know when you have a vacancy in your abode!

We can always make room in the abode. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69