BLUEBERRY STREUSEL COFFEE CAKE with LEMON GLAZEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

How about a little something to go with your coffee on this fine Sunday?

blueberry-4.jpg

You many not realize it, but not all food is photogenic. Sometimes, no matter how great it looks in my head when I come up with the idea, the final product is often very different. This is one of those time when my creation just would not cooperate for the camera.

blueberry-21-1024x767.jpg

I am sad to say that we are approaching the end of the berries season here in Southern Chile. Chile is a huge exporter of berries, particularly raspberries, but blueberries also. All of the premium berries get exported. The imperfect berries get left behind for those of us that live here. They taste just as great of course, there just not as beautiful as what gets exported.

blueberry-5-600x456.jpg

RECIPE

Yield: 8-10

Ingredients

For The Streusel:
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
3 tablespoons butter, sotfened
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

For The Cake:
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup plain non-fat or Greek yogurt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups flour
2 1/2 cups blueberries, fresh or frozen and unthawed

Lemon Yogurt Glaze:
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 1/2 tablespoons plain non-fat or Greek yogurt
1 2/3 cup powdered sugar

Instructions

  1. In a medium mixing bowl combine ingredients for streusel and mix together with a fork until it comes together into a ball. Set aside.
  2. For the cake, Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and beat butter and sugar until smooth. Stir in eggs one at a time until well combined. Add yogurt, vanilla, salt, and soda. Mix in flour until there are no lumps. Fold in berries and divide batter into two greased 8-inch round cake pans. Pick one of the cakes and crumble the streusel topping over batter.
  3. Bake for 35 - 55 minutes, depending on your oven, until toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool.
  4. To Assemble: When cakes are completely cool, carefully loosen cakes from pan and place the one without streusel on platter or cake stand. Spread about half of the drizzle on top and place second cake, the one with the topping, on top. Drizzle the rest of the icing on top and sprinkle with extra blueberries if desired. Serve at room temperature.

blueberry-3-1024x659.jpg

So, I'll be leaving tomorrow for Santiago. I'll be posting as much as possible of my trip. Then next week, Villa la Angostura, Argentina. I hope the weather in Argentina is good so that I can get some great photos.

*****

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! Almost 100% of my posts are cross posted at my website, which you can find out more about in my INTRO POST.

Until next time




AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

When I saw that first photo, that's what I wanted for breakfast, right now, lol! So I'm calling your coffee cake plenty photogenic, lol!

You raise an interesting point about being an agricultural exporter. In some places in the past, people have starved while they exported crops. It does seem like local markets should come first, then export, but that's not the way it works. It's especially a problem, I think, when so much water is needed for those export crops, leaving local folks with stressed rivers and the agricultural profits go to only a few folks. I can get on a soapbox, so I'll stop, lol.

Have a great trip - and enjoy Argentina!

Well, I see your point, but on the water, there is NO shortage of water here. We have pristine water everywhere

aaaaa looks so good! especially when I am on diet and see cakes only in my dreams))).

well, fortunately, this cake is farm from you at the moment, so it won't hurt you. Thanks so much for commenting, I really appreciated it

hahaha exactly.... if it was close I wouldn't be able to stop me)) Thank you for your talent!

I love berries so much :)

Berries are my favorite, my freezer is now full of them

In bulgaria we collekt them in the woods so verry expensive !

@gringalicious , I love blueberries, I bought the blueberries which is imported from other countries, I think it maybe come from your country.. It is great that chile has abundant fruit .
Have a good trip!

Yes we export a lot to China.

yummy! It make me feel so hungry! I need it, I really need it! :D Thanks for the recipe, @gringalicious !

You are very welcome, I am so glad you liked it. Thanks for taking the time to comment

That looks...amazing! WOW! Great presentation.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Mmmm! That cake looks so delicous , i wish I could have a piece right now !! 😋😋😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57