Focacchia Bread With Basil/Garlic Flavored Olive Oil: Homemade

in #food7 years ago

wwwwq.jpg

FOCACCHIA BREAD & Basil Flavored Olive Oil For Dipping


If you're looking for good, hearty bread to sop up marinara sauce, eat with your salad or for just having to make some sandwiches for lunch, then I highly recommend making this focaccia bread.

While the recipe is mainly for an entire loaf itself, I can see making smaller loaves to be able to make sandwiches and even serving up some smoked pulled pork sandwiches.

Last week I had made a sourdough bread starter and used this starter for my first attempt at making focaccia; a flat Italian bread made with yeast and olive oil then topped and flavored with herbs.

(Sourdough) Focaccia Bread RECIPE


  • 3/4 cups sourdough starter
  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tbls olive oil (only one tbls is used in bread recipe- the remaining is used to oil pan and bread before baking)
  • 1-2 tbls salt
  • 1 tbls honey (DO NOT OMIT)
  • 1 package yeast

Mix all ingredients together and 1 tablespoon of olive oil using a counter-top mixer with hook attachment. Place in a lightly oiled bowl and cover with damp, cool towel for one hour. Then fold the dough about 10 times and gently spread on a 9x13 olive oiled baking sheet. Cover and let rise for one hour. Gently push dough to edges of sheet and place in refrigerator for 10-16 hours; covered with damp towel.

Preheat oven to 425-degrees. Dimple dough with fingers then drizzle up to 2 tablespoons of olive oil oregano and basil (dehydrated works best).

Bake for 20 minutes. Let cool completely; as the dough will become harder in the cooling process which makes this great for dipping and a has a nice crunch.

  • I'll be using some today as croutons when I make homemade French Onion Soup. This bread will hold up perfectly under all that ooey-gooey cheese. I'll cut some of the bread into bite-size chunks and toast it up before adding to the soup and baking the cheese.

1.jpg



44.jpg

Dimpled dough



20180202_140521.jpg

Ready for the oven


ddd.jpg

Finished flat loaf of Focaccia

Some people use thyme and rosemary to top focaccia bread, but since we don't particularly care for those herbs, I used basil and oregano. But you can definitely change up this recipe and use whatever herbs your household prefer.



Basil/Garlic Flavored Olive Oil


I bought a high quality olive oil; used 1/4 cup of the oil, 1/4 tsp dried basil and 1/8 tsp dried oregano, 1 tsp minced then crushed garlic, a pinch of salt and a pinch of grated Parmesan cheese. Mix together and serve with bread for dipping.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com



Sort:  

This looks so good! I love sourdough bread, mmm yum! :)

WIsh I could send everyone a slice.. or two!

me too! If I had a whole loaf, I would eat the entire thing.

Now this is going to be awesome with some homemade soup. Thanks for the recipe 😁😁

Yeah, I'm getting ready to head off into the kitchen to get the French Onion Soup started! Can't wait to try this bread in there today.

This is awesome! Thanks for the recipe. I love sourdough recipes. I am going to try using baking powder and baking soda instead of yeast. Just to see if it can be made that way too.

Your bread looks delicious!

Looks delicious, especially with that dipping oil. I'm always curious about savoury recipes that include sugar and have often thought about making them with and without to see if I could tell the difference. Haven't gotten around to doing so though.

What would happen if you omitted the honey in this one?

Honestly, I'm not sure. This was a family recipe of my husband's and his aunt had in bold letters... USE HONEY- NOT OPTIONAL! lol But I wonder too...

I love focaccia can't wait to try this. Thank you : )

Nice one..
Thanks for the lesson

I'd rather eat it when it's ready than bake it :) I hope I can find some focaccia bread around here in bakeries... If not I'll have to re-read the recipe ....:)

Nothing better than the aroma of fresh baked bread in a house... good luck finding some near you.

Thank you for this recipe which looks delicious through its ingredients and preparation method

Thank you! And it is super easy to make.. and MUCH easier to eat!

Oh my goodness, this looks so GOOD! I am sitting here sipping my morning coffee and looking at this and drooling. I am trying to cut back on my carbs so this is a great way to eat my digital calories again. Mmmm it looks so warm and lovely, I'm picturing the oil dripping down my chin. Can you tell it's been a few months since I've had any bread ;)

ICK! Yeah.. carbs! Us too. We have cut back on some but every once in a while we splurge and this was one for the week.

Yes! You need a napkin, or two! The olive oil was dripping from our chins! lol

I dont know what can recook later as drawn..
Hungry :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67