Sous Vide Ribeye Steak

in #food7 years ago

I decided to make steak to celebrate the 4th because what's more 'murican than steak, apple pie, and bourbon?

The Cut

IMG_20170704_152425.jpg

This was not the most fabulous cut of I could've gotten as it lacked the kind of marbling that typify a great steak cut. However, for a last minute pickup from a mostly depleted supermarket, it is a nice, thick slab of ribeye with minimal trimming. I usually like leaving as much fat on the steak as possible to give it a richer flavor as the steak cooks.

The Preparation

The steak was seasoned simply with kosher salt and very coarse black pepper. Milling it in a mortar and pestle has been my favorite way of getting nice chunky black pepper to season with.

The Cook

IMG_20170704_153145.jpg

The steak was vacuum sealed and dropped into a sous vide bath at 141 degrees Fahrenheit for one hour. After letting it rest for 10 minutes, the steak was brushed down with butter and transferred to a very hot cast iron grill pan to sear 4 minutes on each side.

The Product

IMG_20170704_170028.jpg

After resting another five minutes to let it reabsorb its juices, it was ready for a diagonal cut and pairing with asparagus. The asparagus was just pan sauteed with bacon and mashed cloves of garlic.

Sort:  

Look delicious! I've never used the sous vide cooking method, but I want to sometime!

@gimperion
Great writeup!
Keep sharing.

Amazing! Upvoted and followed :)

Why don't you check my last post about food?
I think they are best burgers in the world -------> https://steemit.com/food/@notonlyfood/try-to-find-a-better-one-paninoteca-da-gino I hope you will leave a vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56