Fish And Chips In The Smithy

in #food6 years ago


The Old Smithy Inn, Devon


Each night, whilst I've been in Devon we've gone for a group meal in a local restaurant or pub.

Last night I forgot to photograph my meal which was ham, eggs and chips so I'm posting my choice from Friday night which was good old fish and chips and a pint of Legend beer.

5uqet9b4ce.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

The food was very good although, I prefer my chips to be chunky. These were really French Fries in my opinion! 😁

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Last night we went to The Old Smithy Inn in Welcombe.

34n95kmelr.jpg

It is a 13th century thatched inn nestled at the top of a valley, on the north Devon Cornwall border.

ep4gdu56df.jpg

All the food and coffee is sourced from local suppliers and was very good. Every one in our group enjoyed their food.

to9v8gkbz8.jpg

It's pretty novel for me to have to drive to dinner since, when eating out at home, there are many eating places to choose from right on my doorstep. But there were too many of us to eat in my friend's kitchen.

5ytnfazmzd.jpg

The garden was lovely but the weather wasn't warm enough to sit outside unfortunately.

If it picks up a bit before I go home, we may well give it another go and this time, I will probably order one of the more local dishes. 😊




Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest.

Sort:  

Looks like a charming restaurant. Straight out of the medieval storybook! :)

It was very nice @oleg326756. I would be very happy to go back there next time we're in the area. Thank you for visiting! 😊

You had a good time:). I especially liked the last photo which shows a garden with daisies. This house with white walls and thatched roof looks very nice and cozy

Thank you @madlenfox. It was a very pretty pub and garden and the food was good so I'd be happy to go back some time. 😊

If it's not too far from Your house, then maybe it can be often as a weekend? I realized from the food prices that it is not too expensive, or is it not?

I would say it's a sort of middle to expensive price. It's not somewhere we could go every weekend. I am away from home at the moment @madlenfox.

It took use seven hours to drive here on Friday! 😊

Oh, that's not too close. Such frequent trips can be tedious.

It's a very long drive @madlenfox. I will probably go back by train sometime later in the week. 😊

I realized that the temperature is a little cooler:) You are resting there from the heat :)

It was a nice break and it starting to warm up nicely again now. 😊

Mmmmmm... we are going over to the UK for our summer holiday! I can't wait to have some good old fish and chips with mushy peas! It's been ages....

😁 I'm not a big fan of mushy peas @bengy but my partner and son always choose them.

What part of the UK are you going to for your summer holiday?

It is to the west of Oxford, I think the general area is the Cotswold? We rented a little bnb in a small town, driving from the Netherlands (ferry from Holland!).

That's quite a drive @bengy. I'm quite fond of the Cotswold but my son, who's been living there for the past 10 months can't wait to get out. It's too quiet for him! 😁

Hope you have a fun time and the weather holds for you!

Oh your fish and chips made me hungry!!! It's a dish that almost never fails haha

Yep. As long as the fish is fresh (which it tends to be here) and the batter isn't too greasy it's a tasty meal once in a while @themonkeyzuelans.

That fish and chips looks delicious but where is the tartar sauce ?

Tartar sauce is a must for the fish :)

I thought the same @rentmoney. I was very surprised there was no tartar sauce. I love it. 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-30T12:32:33
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2554.59/3200.00
Total Photos: 326
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.85 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a quaint place to enjoy a fine meal. Too bad the weather was cool.

It was lovely despite the weather @sunscape. thanks for visiting as always. 😊

very quaint inn. that dog looks like he needs company haha Still too hot to sit outside where I live but it was nice and cool in San Francisco yesterday. A little fog does wonders ...

It was very pretty @steven-patrick. Another cool day today but it's supposed to heat up again later in the week so I'm making the most of it. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77