Smoking Chili on the BGE

in #food7 years ago


The Finished Product


Now that fall is here, I had a craving for Chili.

I did some research and found a couple of new ideas that I wanted to try. One was a method of making chili on the Big Green Egg (BGE) where you cook the wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately, then combine them near the end. This method has been termed Over-The-Top Chili.

Today's meal started the way that all my BGE cooks start. Lighting the chunk. I prefer to use chunk charcoal as I can control the airflow through it better.

Lighting the Pit


While the Egg is warming up, I prepped the ingredients.

I put the pecan wood chips in a baggie and soaked them in water for an hour. This will be the source of my smoke


IMG_7251.JPG

You know it's a good recipe if it starts with bacon!


Bacon prep

Then, I chopped up some veg.


Veg Prep


In a dutch oven, I fried the bacon. While the bacon was cooking, I threw the peppers on the grill to try to get a little char.

Cooking the Bacon

Once the Bacon was ready, I removed it, then added all the chopped vegetables to the Dutch Oven.

Roasting the Veggies

While the Veg was softening, I prepped the meat.

Spices for Meat
The spices were very similar to a chili-mole blend. I added the spice to 2 pounds of ground beef, then mixed it in until I had a beautiful chili-mole meatball. The bacon was also added to the meatball at this point.

The meatball was ready to go on the egg.


Mole  Meatball

I rearranged the egg so that the dutch oven would only receive indirect heat. I didn't want to chance it that the bottom of the pot would burn. I put in a "Plate Setter" as a barrier between the fire and the pot. The rolled up balls of tinfoil keep the pot from touching the ceramic - this also reduces the risk of burning.


IMG_7270.JPG


IMG_7271.JPG

I then put the grate on top of the dutch oven.


IMG_7272.JPG

Then I put the meat ball on top of the grate so that it would get smoked while, at the same time, any drippings would fall into the chili.


IMG_7273.JPG

At this point, I let it smoke until the internal temperature of the meatball was around 145 degrees C.


When the meat was cooked, I let it rest for 10 minutes, then chopped it up into small pieces.


IMG_7295.JPG

It's hard to see in this photo, but there was a beautiful smoke ring before I split it up .


IMG_7296.JPG <

The smell is amazing!!!

I put the meat back in the chili. Now, I am going to let it smoke for a few more hours.


IMG_7297.JPG

The hardest part is ... my wife doesn't get home for another 2 hours.

The Finished Product

Sort:  

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gikitiki! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Wow, I thought my son @exyle was good with the green egg, but what you are doing is amazing. I like to make chili also, but I have no green egg, so I make it on the stove. That's also good, but this....... I will follow your adventures from now on!!

I'm going to try to do smoked mac and cheese soon. It's a new recipe for me. I know I really enjoyed smoked gouda and other cheeses, but I've never smoked my own.

Congratulations @gikitiki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks amazing, like a hot pot:)

It was delicious. !!!

This post has received a 0.99 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gikitiki.

This post has received a 2.93 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @gikitiki.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 1.08 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @gikitiki. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

This post has received a 3.05 % upvote from @khoa

thanks to: @gikitiki.@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@----------------------------------------------SEND ANY AMOUNT TO GET AN UPVOTE

I also really like the food you post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93