You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thai Basil Lentils & Coconut Toasted Sesame Brown Rice (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food7 years ago

I'd love the recipe for this. It looks similar to a recipe I make. But I serve mine on quinoa.

Full Steem Ahead

Sort:  

Hi @gikitiki, if you serve it on quinoa, do you use just boiled quinoa or do you mix it with something? I can find only quinoa to be a bit monotonous compared to something like rice so I wonder how you prepare it.

For this recipe, I like the quinoa plain since it will absorb the great flavours of the curry/stew.

My method for quinoa with a "dryer" topping (ie usually a grilled protein) is

  • in a dry pan, toast the quinoa like you would a spice
  • add a broth that will pair with the protein
  • simmer uncovered until the quinoa is to your desired doneness.
  • similar to a risotto, add a finely grated (use a zester) hard cheese (like Parmesan) to add

Thank you @gikitiki. That is some great advice. 😀
Need to try that next time I grill some meat or fish.

Loading...

OOOOooo! I love quinoa and I bet it'd be great with this @gikitiki! Here's the recipe and thanks for reading!!!

Question, do you make your own pad Thai paste or buy it? I like to make it by soaking and crushing tamarind, but sometimes I get lazy. If you made it from tamarind you could easily keep it vegan.

It's after midnight here but now I am hungry. :-)

I actually just bought mine but I would like to make it and that's a great tip for vegans. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36