SNAP Food Stamp Challenge – Week 1 – Day 4

in #food7 years ago

SNAP Challenge Headerw1d4.jpg

Welcome to my chronicle of living on a food budget of just $29 per week. This is the average food stamp (nowadays SNAP) benefit - at least it was in 2015. My research showed that it has only slightly changed since then.

In addition to living off of just $29 per week for food, starting from absolute scratch, I have upped the difficulty in a few ways.

  1. I can only shop once per week, and only at the 99 Cents Only store. This store only has a limited amount of food items, and you never know what they might have each day. For instance, there were no potatoes when I went shopping. So I could not have them this week.

  2. I cannot use my microwave or oven. This is in case people on SNAP benefits do not have a microwave and their oven is broken and they cannot afford to fix it.

  3. Most people do this challenge for one week. I am not most people, so I will do this challenge for three weeks. One week is nothing, it's over before it even starts.

BREAKFAST - DAY 4 - $0.65

Breakfast.jpg

I decided to make a little breakfast sandwich! It is just amazing how nice a runny egg and bacon is inside some bread. Yesterday I used half a banana to make the plain oatmeal tastier, thanks to @ats-david's suggestion. Today I used the other half.

This is the thing about having such a limited food budget, you end up eating the same thing over and over. I don't have much variety right now, as I started with nothing at all! My budget had to be used to buy those staples you usually take for granted (I know I do).

Next week should add some variety, but for now it's pretty much eggs and oatmeal.

1 egg - $0.14
1 slice of bacon - $0.17
1/4 cup oatmeal - $0.05
1/4 cup milk - $0.03
1 slice of bread - $0.07
2 Strawberries - $0.09
1/2 banana - $0.10

Total: $0.65

LUNCH - $1.19

Lunch.jpg

As I hinted in day 3, I was tired of trying to get the dried beans soft. I mean I got them to be OK, but it took hours and hours to get them to where they were.

Instead, I used my spinach spaghetti, canned salmon, veggies, and made a white sauce. I've always been a huge pasta fan. I could eat pasta every day, no problem.

I just needed a big meal and this mid-point of the week is a perfect time to do it.

I put these items into the sauce and got three portions.

1/2 bunch of asparagus $0.50
1 squash - $0.25
1 onion - $0.12
2 tomatoes - $0.33
4 cloves garlic - $0.12
1 can of salmon - $1.00
1 cup of milk - $0.12
4 tbls margarine $0.13
2 tbls flour - $0.02

Total sauce cost: $2.59 (but each portion is ~$0.86)

I add this sauce to 1/3rd a pound of spinach pasta, which costs $0.33.

Each meal is $1.19

DINNER - $1.28

Dinner.jpg

Same as lunch, but I had two strawberries as a dessert. I have been working evenings, so that's why it is in a plastic container.

CONCLUSION OF DAY 4

A bit of a jump up in costs today, but I needed to have some good meals.

All together, today I ate for $3.12. Add this to the previous days total and I have spent $7.46 on food over the past 4 days.

Since I have a food budget of $29 per week, that comes out to $4.14 per day. I have completed 4 days and am actually using less than 50% of that! Wow, it really is possible to cut food costs to the bone if you had to.

I might be living large next week!

Stick around and see what happens - I have two and a half weeks to go!

Sort:  

You are really doing well on the variety of meals with what you have.

Pancakes, maybe?

That's a really good idea, thanks for bringing it up!

Now that my sugar rush is over I need a salt rush. Ramen and burgers it will be today.

You really manipulate my taste for food.

Oh, I wish I could have a burger!

Good, our life is our choice

Nice... Cool!! Steem On!

me i love to eat especially o lunch break

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10