In The Kitchen With Kat

in #food6 years ago

Low Carb Sausage, Broccoli, and Cheese Quiche


IMG_1915.JPG

Note the hot sauce...I might have a food heat application problem.

Hello all! Kat the Nine Fingered Not So Wonder here with another sublimely-yum recipe for you all to peruse. Last night I got home rather late, and let me tell you, I was starving. So of course it was the night of multiple friend and family counseling phone calls. I dealt with everything from a drag queen crisis to being the middlewoman for job negotiations and recommendations. By the time I pulled my quiche out of the oven at around 8:30 pm, my brain was pulsating and I would have eaten bleached shoe leather!

IMG_1908.JPG

That said, this particular quiche turned out pretty dandy considering I wasn't able to place my full attention upon its creation. I had a bunch of sausage, sharp cheddar, eggs, and broccoli chilling in my fridge, and here lately I have been craving quiche. So the composition of the egg pastry was a no brainer.

IMG_1910.JPG

Also, since I have a thing about keeping my caboose from expanding to a couple of ax handles in width, this week I have been keeping my intake on the low carb end of the food spectrum. There is currently a bag of Trim Healthy Mama Baking Blend reclining in my cupboard, so I based my crust on that mix. If you eat low carb food, you might have the ingredients to make your own baking blend on hand, a copycat baking blend recipe is located here.

Once I had the crust section of this egg pastry symphony all composed and roasting in the oven for a bit, I started chopping broccoli. Grandma would be disappointed as I only used the florets and gave the broccoli stalks to the kid's pigs, but honestly, you only want to use finely chopped florets in a quiche like this.

IMG_1911.JPG

While the crust was browning, and I was chopping the shrubbery part of my meal, I had some of our homemade sausage browning. One of my phone call sessions ended and another began somewhere between edible food tree trimming and egg and cream whisking. Someday I hope to craft food without solving multiple chaos ridden scenarios, but then again, I might not be able to focus on only one task at a time.

IMG_1914.JPG

Once all of the ingredients were combined, I plunked the quiche filling into the slightly browned pie crust and popped the quiche beast back into the oven for about an hour. During the baking time I got a dear friend hired onto a job a few states over by recommending him to the hiring manager with yet another phone call. Good times. You can bet your bottom consultant on a cracker that I inhaled a gargantuan piece of that pastry when it emerged from my oven. I still have scorch marks on the roof of my mouth to prove it!

IMG_1917.JPG


IMG_1918.JPG

All in all, if you are looking for a not too complicated, filling low-carb meal that also tastes great as a leftover, then I recommend this quiche recipe!

Low Carb Sausage, Broccoli, and Cheese Quiche

The Crust

1 1/3 cups THM Baking Blend or substitute
6 Tablespoons butter (softened)
1 egg
1/2 cup water
pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon Pyure

The Filling

16 ounces cooked crumbled sausage
6 eggs
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup 1/2 and 1/2 (or another cup of cream!)
2 cups shredded cheese (I used sharp cheddar)
2 cups finely chopped broccoli florets
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste

Place Baking blend, salt, Pyure, egg, and butter in a food processor. Pulse until the ingredients look all crumbly.

Slowly add the water and pulse until mixture forms a ball.

Press dough into a greased pie plate.

Place un-filled crust into a preheated 400 degree Fahrenheit oven for ten minutes.

On to the filling: Brown sausage and drain.

Whisk eggs and creams in a bowl until well combined and stir in the onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper.

Chop up your broccoli florets (florets only, not the stalks) and shred your cheese if it isn't already shredded.

Stir sausage, cheese, and broccoli into the egg mixture and pour it all into the slightly browned pie crust.

Cover the edges of the quiche with aluminum foil and pop the whole thing into the oven for 50-60 minutes or until a knife inserted into the middle of the quiche comes out clean.

Let cool for a bit, unless you like your mouth and tongue scorched, and enjoy!



And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's quiche free and currently white paint flecked iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Kitchen day is the best day :D !! Another MUST try out now . Literally I have brownie mix at home and now I’m gonna make those to get over what you have made

Aww! I made some grape sorbet in the ice cream machine last night and totally thought of you! Did you ever get your ice cream maker? I hope your kitchen crafty time was a blast!

I ended up buying a kitchen aid right now but next on my list is an ice cream machine

I had such a hankering for low carb bakes today that my son and I took the hike across town for some paleo pizza. I wish I had seen this earlier. It reminds me of my favourite pizza back in UNI ... iImay have mentioned it ... broccoli cheddar pizza. Add a little pizza sauce over the crust and I think this would have answered the yen. I may just try making something similar this weekend.

Kudos on getting your friend the job and shame on you for not sharing the drag queen drama. That is good vicarious living:)

Always love reading your wittt blogs:) Keep sharing:)

Paleo Pizza? Yum! Totally worth the appetite rousing hike! You know, I did think of your broccoli pizza adoration when I grabbed out those ingredients. I think it's about time to fire up the outdoor oven and craft a Pryde pizza in your honor. Yes! That will be next week's special project!!!

LOL! The DQ drama is a national news story right now, it's kind of interesting that I am even connected to it at all through a dear family member. Perhaps when things cool down a bit I will share my part in that tale, small as it is. Life's always a tumbleweed parfait for sure;o)!

Thank you so much for your always awesome commentary, I truly enjoy it!

A pizza named after me ... you know you've made when:) Have a fantastic weekend:)

I am really sleep Steeming tonight, but I made it lol.

I want some low-carb quiche coz it looks divine!! YUM

Sleep steeming! It's a thing! LOL!

And thank you for the quiche-compliment, I think I am going to go eat a slice for breakfast in your honor;o)

Love me some quiche! We eat them for any meal and they freeze well too. I have been making crustless recently with just putting Crisco in the pan and covering in cornmeal. I can pretend its healthier and use more cheese :) Its really just easier and I am not good at crusts. I like that you make your crust home made. I need to work on that skill. Your quiche looks delish and makes me want to plan one for the weekend!

Ha ha! Using more cheese is always a bonus! I love quiche in all forms, especially crustless! I am seriously counting the days til my spinach and Swiss chard are ready to harvest, because a plethora of quiche crafting is so totally going to happen then, LOL! Somewhere I have a no roll pie crust recipe, I need to dig that out for you, you make it right in the pan, it's super easy, and flaky tasty! mmm....It's not low carb, but I do so love it! Hope your weekend quiche crafting and inhaling is most enjoyable!

Yummy yummy scrummy quiche Kat.They are the best recipes using the leftover.I like your crust recipe so need to try that!💛

Scrummy is my new favorite descriptor! I'm sure you can take my quick cause I am almost maniacally in a hurry crust recipe and make it stratospherically awesome! And anything that frees the leftovers from my fridge prison makes me happy, lol! Hope you are having an excellent day my friend!

I am having a fab day today Kat.My mummy's back from holiday.So i have taken my whole tribe to hers over the weekend.Oh how i missed her homemade currys.My bellys stuffed now having been here a few ours.My bellies bigger then santas! Hope you been having a lovely day.x

Very good post mmmm delicious

Thank you! It was pretty yummy!

se ven deliciososss

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Freinds - Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

nice food...i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93