Simply Potatoes

in #food7 years ago

Simply Prepared, Simply Fantastic


IMG_7415.JPG

In this day and age where everything tends to be over the top, out-of-this worldish in presentation and taste I have found that I sometimes want to wander the simple side of the foodie street. The palate pleasing wonders that we have access to in our ever shrinking world are enjoyed and admired greatly by yours truly, but sometimes I like to take the minimalist munchie path and enjoy the flavor nuances that dance across my taste buds through the partaking of simply prepared, home grown food.

IMG_7416.JPG

Enter the humble potato. I like the moniker that the French gave the tuber, Pomme de Terre. Apple from the earth is such a nice descriptor for the New World originating starch ball that a good chunk of the planet enjoys.

One of my fondest childhood memories is my Grandma making creamed new potatoes and peas. Every year we would go out and pick peas and small taters for that sign of spring dish. Of course, we were lucky to get into the house with any peas, as my brother and I were kind of a bit of pea piranhas.

IMG_7421.JPG

As an inhabitant of the Panhandle State it's like an unwritten bit of citizen code to produce potatoes, I mean, potatoes are what Idaho is famous for, right? I have to admit they grow rather well here, and the taste of home grown potatoes is interstellar in awesomeness!

Today, I had a hankering for some fried potatoes. Just simple, salt and peppered, fried in olive oil, potatoes. You see, I grow this variety of potato called German Butterball, and they are so not oxy-moronically named! You would swear that the breeder of this particular spud figured out how to write butter into tubers genetic code. These potatoes are so divinely delicious that you need to add nothing to them seasoning-wise.

IMG_7424.JPG

As some of the potatoes towards the top of the plant are always a bit on the smallish side, one of my favorite things to do is to dig out a bucket full, wash off any soil, slice them up with the tender, non-cured skin on, fry, and masticate and digest the buttery goodness. Siiiimmmmppplllee!

IMG_7426.JPG

This weekend I think I will take some more of the small top taters and make my Bacon Ranch Potato Salad for a BBQ that I am heading too. I make my own ranch dressing mix from scratch (and lots of buttermilk), so that dish should be tasty too, but I have to say, this afternoon's fried potato taste bud interlude was rather smashing!


So, because I am an all too curious Kat, what are some of your favorite potato dishes, fellow Steemians?


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's soil and potato skin adorned iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here

Sort:  

Mmm. There is something darn tootin' tasty about a good potato in the cast iron. Never knew they were called Apple of the Earth. 🍎🌎🥔

We have an Italian Herb potato recipe in our family that rarely stays in the pan after emerging from the oven. Think slightly crispy potatoes like a cast iron but covered in Italian love....

Oh my amore! That sounds amazing! I've got some basil and oregano growing just outside the back door, hmmm, garlic and olive oil too. It's time for more potatoes!! LOL!

Lol, I smell another post coming!

Thank you for sharing this simple recipe!

Awe, thank you for the lovely comment! 😊

I love potato salad in the summer and homemade fries anytime😊 I love simple❤️

Oh yum, homemade fries! Lol! That bit of simple might also happen quite a bit around here😉

Excellent! Good luck with your giveaway!!!

That looks good and simple!

Well thank you, I sometimes crave simple, especially in the summer when I am doing a Herculean amount of labor! lol!

Instant gratification version -> potato chips.

Torture myself with delay version -> scalloped potatoes with ham.

I absolutely love salt and vinegar potato chips! However, anything with cheese on it draws me like a moth to a flame! Dang, I am so hungry right now! lol!

Ooooh, those will make you pucker! Lol!

More potatoes for dinner tonight - with pot roast. Yum!

Hungry again?

Yummy!


Hi @generikat, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Oh! I am so happy that you stumbled upon my blog and commented, for now I can enjoy reading your posts! Thank you so much for the kind words and tell Dawn that I appreciate her apurroval too!😊

That looks yUmmmmm

It was pretty tasty, thank you so much!

Thank you for sharing this story. Nothing is better than new potatoes straight from the garden. My granny also makes creamy potatoes with peas and carrots. Have to learn from her to keep it as a tradition.

You are so right about nothing being better than new potatoes right out of the garden soil! I love that your granny put carrots in her creamy potatoes, definitely have to keep that tradition going!! Thank you for such an awesome comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47