Raspberry Syrup

in #food6 years ago

A Delightful Recipe For Pancake (And Other Things) Adornment!


IMG_5878.JPG

For the last week or so, @scribblingramma has been letting me and the kiddos pick raspberries off of her amazing berry bushes. Every other day I would drive over to her house and pick over a gallon of the most succulent, plump red raspberries. The gratitude exudes out of this Kat let me tell ya!

IMG_5879.JPG

Most of the berries were promptly put in the freezer for later use, but some of them ended up in a bowl on the counter for grazing purposes. The hubs and my offspring love berries, so every time I pick some I always sacrifice some to the human fruit vacuums that I dwell with. I'm kind that way.

The last time I went over and picked berries I happened to have a couple of extra teens dwelling in the abode, as my husband was conducting a session of T school. T school is when our friends that have teenagers drop them off on our farm and they learn fun character building stuff like how to put posts in the ground, drive t-posts, build fence, do general construction, run chainsaws, and drive miscellaneous types of equipment. What T school means for me is a lot of extra cooking as I feel sorta sorry for the laborers and make them a ton of food.

That said, as I walked in the house with my latest haul of raspberries, I decided to whip up some homemade raspberry syrup to pour over the buttermilk pancakes that I was going to make for the unpaid laborers the following morning. Judging by the vast quantity the little horde consumed, I think that the kids liked the syrup.

I started by rinsing the raspberries and letting them drain for a bit. I then placed them into a pot and poured some water over them. After bringing the berries to a boil I turned the heat down to medium and let them simmer for about twenty minutes. The color leeches out of the berries during this time and into the liquid.

IMG_5881.JPG

After getting another pot out, I strained the raspberries through a wire mesh sieve. There was no squishing of the cooked berries, as I didn't want raspberry pond scum in this particular syrup. Only a cough syrup colored liquid remained for the rest of the recipe-in.

IMG_5882.JPG

A small metric ton of sugar was added to the raspberry liquid and I whisked the conglomeration as I brought the future syrup to a boil. You want the sugar to dissolve. I boiled my syrup mixture for about ten minutes because I like a thicker syrup. If you want a syrup for things like Italian sodas, then a five minute boil time will do, and by boil I mean a gentle roll not a tempest of skin singing horridness!

IMG_5886.JPG

And look at the result! I think I need to go eat a spoon full of that syrup right meow! There are also some future donuts that are going to have the raspberry goo injected into them. Yummo!

IMG_5893.JPG

Kat's Raspberry Syrup

4 cups of fresh raspberries
4 cups of water
2 cups of sugar

Rinse the berries and let them drain a bit. Place the berries in a largish stock pot and pour the water over the berries. Bring the berries and water to a boil and let boil for about twenty minutes, until the color leaches out of the raspberries.

Place a fine mesh strainer over another larger pot. Pour the boiled berries into the strainer and discard the berries, leaving the beautiful red pink liquid in the new pot. Add the sugar to the raspberry liquid and whisk it good. You want the sugar to all dissolve. Bring the raspberry sugar mixture to a nice rolling boil, stirring a bit as you go, and skim off any foam that develops.

After five minutes you will have a thin raspberry syrup. I like a thicker syrup so I boil mine for ten minutes or longer. What result you want is totally up to you:)


And as more frequently, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's raspberry syrup bedecked Canon Rebel digital camera.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

This is really beautiful recipe . And making testy food with recipe . Such a amazing recipe photography . Thanks for sharing @generikat

Awe, I am glad that you liked it, thank you:)

A truly wonderful recipe I will try out with certainty

Thank you so much! I hope you enjoy it:)

T school is when our friends that have teenagers drop them off on our farm and they learn fun character building stuff like how to put posts in the ground, drive t-posts, build fence, do general construction, run chainsaws, and drive miscellaneous types of equipment.

Sounds like you and your hubby have a good system for finishing odd jobs around the homestead, lol. I can only imagine the amount of food you needed for that crew.

Even though my hubs is medically retired from the military, some habits still remain, like training (encouraging with enthusiastic bellering) young people, lol lol! And the amount of food is amazing, but I like seeing the kids smile through their dust covering when they see all that I have concocted for them, ha ha!

I'm so glad you are enjoying the raspberries and making tasty things to eat with them! I am grateful not to have to pick them all by myself!!

I'm just so grateful that you shared them with us:) The conversation whilst picking was right nice as well!

I've seen very few raspberries in my life in my country are very expensive I still do not remember I do not have much memory but I think I've ever tried raspberry syrup

I like all these fruits for their color and flavor, the closest I have are the strawberries and they are my favorite

Raspberries have a very unique flavor, they are so good in smoothies and as sauces on things like cheesecake. They are expensive here too if you have to buy them because they are so perishable. Most folks buy them frozen.

Strawberries are so amazing, I love them and probably eat more of them than any other kind of fruit:) I hope you had a lovely day!

Hello how are you @generikat I want to pick berries I like them I also love the color they have are beautiful

I am very thick that is good is very similar to the mermela I have tried is the raspberry jam I do not have much access to raspberries but I like what you did with them

Hi there! I am doing great and hope that you are also! Raspberries are such a beautiful color, I so agree:)

Thank you for stopping by my blog, and I love raspberry jam and am so happy that you got to try that!

Yum!! We have a few wild thimbleberries up here, but have yet to discover an abundant berry patch. Did go huckleberry picking last week, but hubby lost patience pretty quick and we ended up at the local U-pick for some tasty blueberries instead. 😉

So what do you do with the strained berries?

OMGosh! Raspberry is my favorite! We just finished our jam. We planted some bushes in an empty space three years ago and now furnish the whole family with jam.

Thanks for the recipe. Oh, my! Pancake heaven with raspberry syrup!

Tip!

Hi @generikat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83