Chocolate Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

in #food7 years ago

One Of My Favorite Zucchini Recipes


IMG_7940.JPG

This morning started off in a rather unique way for me. My blissful slumber was ceased in a way that was completely new and bizarre to me. As some of you know many of the creative ways that I have been roused to consciousness, it came as a surprise to be awoken in a surprising yet new manner:

Something was picking at my toenails.

Now, I really don't like my feet to be touched much when I am in the realm of the woke, but to be semi-conscious of someone or something trying to steal my toenails from their rightful home was a bit of a shocker. Let's just say I became alert rather quickly.

This was the culprit:

IMG_7924.JPG

His name is Chaos, I have rechristened him Toe-bite-us.


Moving on, my dear friend's mother died yesterday, and today I was going to go spend the day helping her with whatever she needed done. It ended up with me holding up the head of a 1200 plus pound show steer so he could get his hair clipped and ended with me and her daughter wading through a hoarder plantation of horrors searching for pictures and documents. Today was a trip.

Anyway, I digressed a bit there. I have a habit of feeding my friends, especially bereaved ones, and as I had a small mountain of zucchini on the counter and knew that my friends all loved chocolate, inspiration struck!

I now present you with my favorite chocolate zucchini bread recipe. This recipie gets trotted out every year because my kids love it so much. They can also demolish a loaf in one sitting. Even my friend's tiny son ate half the loaf I took over as we were taking care of arrangement things. It is that good.

The recipe's also very easy to prepare.


You grate some zucchini:

IMG_7931.JPG

You grease your pans and preheat the oven:

IMG_7930.JPG

You mix the wet ingredients well in a mixer:

IMG_7933.JPG

You whisk the dry ingredients in a bowl and add them to the wet ingredients:

IMG_7936.JPG

IMG_7937.JPG

You throw the batter (carefully) into the two greased loaf pans:

IMG_7938.JPG

You chuck them in a 350 degree Fahrenheit oven for 60 minutes:

IMG_7939.JPG

And then you eat like a chocoholic pig once the loaves cool:


I got some sort of vindicated satisfaction as Toe-bite-us watched me eat a scoop of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream on top of the delectable zucchini bread. Delayed passive aggressive victory, you were as sweet as the chocolate chips dispersed throughout my slice of bread. Sigh, sweet, sigh.


Chocolate Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

3 eggs
1 cup of vegetable oil (you can use a 1/2 cup of applesauce and a 1/2 cup of oil)
2 cups sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 cups peeled, shredded zucchini
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups chocolate chips (1 10-12 ounce package will do, I buy milk chocolate chips in bulk and I might be very generous in my addition of this ingredient)

Mix eggs, sugar, oil, and vanilla.

Stir in the zucchini

Whisk together dry ingredients in a separate bowl, combine with
zucchini batter and mix well.

Pour into two well greased loaf pans, I use the 8"X4" kind.

Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 60 minutes. Cool and devour!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's chocolate batter covered iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here

Sort:  

Have guests coming over this weekend , got tired of thinking what to make on the side , then you save the day :D

Awe! You are just awesome, and I hope you and your guests are having a fantastic weekend!!!

Mmmmmm....nice and taste post with sweet chocolet bread from @generikat

  1. Wow...execellent work my dear friend
  2. I think it is tasty...and awesome feeling...
  3. I really like your all uptade in this platform
  4. Thank you si much sharing this tasty post with us...
    Happy steeming.....keep it up post..
    Cheers!

Thank you and you are most welcome! I love that you list what you like about each post, it's super cool!

It's zucchini season in Pennsylvania. My aunt gave me some zucchini bread (non-chocolate) last week. Needless to say that is gone. My mom used to make chocolate zucchini bread all the time. What a great way to eat vegetables!

I got half of a giant zucchini in the fridge right now. I've been slicing it up for stir fry. Those pictures are tempting me to dig out some bread pans.

Oh yum! I love zucchini stir fry! I am also really fond of adding grated zucchini to marinara sauce that I make and simmer all day in the crock pot. Okay, I like it in bread form too, especially pineapple zucchini bread. Hmmm. It appears that we both like zucchini, lol!!!

This sounds really delicious. I've heard people on here talk about bookmarking something for later? Do you know how that's done?

Thank you! I don't know about other Steemians, but I made a file for interesting posts in my browser's bookmarks and save posts that I want to reference later that way. Good luck!

That's what I was thinking.
Thank you!

I am so collection you recipes @generikat ^^ My zucchinis are still size of my palm and need to grow a little bit more.

I think I schooled my toe biter in less passive aggressive way as she was kicked out of bed by accident and after never tried it again.

Oh wow! I hope that you enjoy them as much as we all have, and I also hope that your zucchinis get in gear and grow to a useful size for you in a hurry!

LOL! Your toe biter took flight, lol, lol!

I had an urge to bake this morning - chocolate chip zucchini bread.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DGoPIwzW0AAfpBe?format=jpg&name=large

That bread looks amazing and super yummy! Thanks for sharing!😊

Thanks for ur support. Have a great weekend

You have a heart of gold for serving people. Not many folks would do whatever needed done for a friend - holding a steer is a new one for me.

I really do need to stop looking at your delicious concoctions when my late night cravings kick in. 😄

Hmmm, your statement about my heart makes me feel a lot better about ending the day covered in steer hair, drool, and er, waste....LOL! If you ever need a bovine contained you know who to message!

I have been on a food tangent lately, just for the sake of your blood sugar perhaps I will branch off into other writing and posting pastures!!

Sounds delish. My mother just gave me a bunch of zucchini and I have been looking for recipes to try. Thanks :)

LOL! They do tend to keep showing up! I hope you have a big stack of recipes to try (Pineapple zucchini bread is awesome too!), and thank you so much for the comment!

You have a good taste for food

Thank you! 😊

Gracias @generikat por compartir esta deliciosa receta, y tu gato es hermoso, soy una fiel amante de los gatos y amo el chocolate

¡De nada! Muchas gracias por el comentario encantador! ¡Amo los gatos y el chocolate también !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61937.20
ETH 3004.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49