You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hacks For Eggs

in #food8 years ago

did you know that if you coat your entire egg with food grade Mineral oil and place it small end up back into the egg carton that you can store your eggs outside of the refrigerator for 6 to 9 months without them spoiling. I have been doing this for my family for over a year now and spend less as I buy in bulk when they go on sale. If your unsure of this practice, try it and when you go to use the egg, just submerge it in a glass of water if it floats its gone bad. I have only encountered 1 egg in 9 cartons that have gone bad. I store mine in my basement on a shelf. So a cool dry place is best place to store them. Once a month you should go down and flip the egg carton over. Good article about eggs thanks

Sort:  

No way . I never knew this, I'm going to have to try it . But first I must ask what is food grade mineral oil ?, and where dose one buy it ? .

Food grade mineral Oil can be found in your local pharmacy. Here in Canada I get a big bottle for about $7. Hope that helps.

Thanks for the tip. I also live in Canada. 🇨🇦

Wow that is awesome I"ll have to get some too.

This is new information, but very interesting. While I was visiting in Mexico, they had all their eggs out a room temperature. I was told it is because they didn't wash them and they still had a protective coating. Eggs in the US generally come washed, so your method makes sense. I've used the floating trick on cartons that were past their expiration. Never once did I have one that was bad. Thanks for the tips!

Yes! Shoot why didn't I put that in the article :) That is such an amazing trick ! I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71