The everyday gourmet: A colourful Dessert

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It’s not widely known that I’m a gourmet chef capable of creating some of the most complex, amazingly tasty, and nutritious foods known to mankind. Believe it or not, food is critical to a person’s life but rather than make it a boring necessity I create complex and intricate meals; It’s ok, I’m a professional.

Following on from a previous food blog in which I shared a tasty dish with steemit I felt it was time to share another; This one being a dessert. Click here to see that post, your taste buds will thank you.

I’d rate this one as advanced to expert level, in terms of complexity. It may seem simple but there are many intricacies to consider. Easy for a professional like me, hard for you. The dish is called; Fairy Bread.

This meal could well be served at fine-dining establishments all around the world from New York and Paris to Water Valley, Mississippi. Instead, it’s usually served at kids birthday parties. However, given the right exposure, you’ll probably see it at the most prolific restaurant in the world someday…McDonalds! I urge you to go to your local McDonalds and make a request for fairy bread…Enough requests and they’ll be forced to put it on the menu.

If you want to tackle this one on your own though just keep reading and you’ll find my step-by-step instructions. Be warned, it’s highly complicated.

Ingredients:

White bread x 2 slices
Butter (not margarine)
100’s & 1000’s

Method:

  • Spread the butter on the bread. This sounds simple of course, but a careless effort here and your entire recipe will be ruined. The key is to ensure the butter is spread to the edges of the bread to ensure 100’s & 1000’s dispersion continuity. The temperature of the butter is critical also as you do not want to tear the bread with butter that isn’t viscous enough to spread evenly. You also need to consider that your diners would not like to get butter on their fingers and so don’t be too overzealous with the butter.
  • Spread the 100’s & 1000’s. There are many ways to do this but I prefer using my fingers to sprinkle the tiny coloured sugary thingy’s around on the bread. You need to proceed with caution here because again the integrity of your creation can be compromised during this stage. Incorrect or unbalanced dispersion of the topping will turn your diners off. Remember, the overall presentation of fine food is just as important as the taste, texture and smell.
  • Variations. This is one for the advanced chef’s amongst you and is not to be undertaken by any novice, or uncommitted individuals. At times, especially with fussy diners, like 4 and 5 year olds, crusts may become an issue. For this reason I have developed this variation to the recipe. I call it, cutting the crusts off. One would take a sharp knife and slice the crusts off on each edge and…That’s pretty-much it.

Plating up the meal:

Presentation is important to create a dining experience for your guest or diners. I like to use a plate to plate up my food. It just makes a lot of sense. If serving for one, and depending on the diner I may cut the bread in halves, always diagonally mind you. If the diner is of a younger age, or a more dainty eater then I always use quarters. I have included some images to demonstrate it to avoid any confusion. Garnish with a chocolate or, sprinkle a few 100’s & 1000’s around the plate and voila, as a French person would say. You will note the above picture is the slightly-less complicated crust-on version and the more complex no-crust option is pictured below. If you look really closely you may note someone has taken a bite out of the dish below. I can only assume it was one of the film crew, or production team...

Now you have read the entire process you can begin. If you are not an expertly trained 3 Michelin Star chef you may want to build up your skills. Try practicing buttering the bread over and over. I would suggest you don’t move on to the next step until you have mastered buttering bread over some 50-100 loaves. Practice makes perfect. Then move on to the sprinkling stage…Mastery of your craft will only come through practice and hard work.

So, that's the end of this gourmet blog. Yes, disappointing I know. If you feel daring enough get yourself to your local gourmet market and grab the ingredients. Be sure you take care to select the freshest produce you can find; It will make a difference to the end result.

Design and create your ideal life, or food. Don't live it by default.
@galenkp

Sort:  

Fairy Bread - easy to make, but hard to master. Your painstaking attention to detail and mastery of high-level decrusting techniques is a sight to behold. I also appreciated your butter spreading ability. A masterclass in making the revered delicacy of Fairy Bread!!

Hi @bmj, thanks for your comment. I can tell you are a connoisseur of fine food. You also appreciate the skills involved in the technical art forms that are de-crusting and butter dispersion. Don't tell anyone but I am investigating the opportunity of opening a Fairy Bread restaurant. I'm in the due-diligence phase at the moment but it's all looking good. I think there'll be a lot of demand. I'm going to call it something really creative: The Fairy Bread Restaurant. Catchy right? Should be a money-maker. I was also thinking of producing a reality TV show around the development of my restaurant called Fairy Bread Master Chef, or maybe My Fairy Bread Kitchen Rules... The sheeple of the world will watch any old drivel these days so that should be a winner too. I think Channel Ten will pick it up...Oh hang on, they got sold off.

I think you may be on to something there. This could be the next big thing. Channel Ten would be silly not to buy into a show like this. It can't possibly be worse than what's being shown now! It may even bring them back into profits. How about "Fairy Bread Bosses" .. Now that's the business!!

You're a bloody ideas man! I love it! I'm going to run with that. Look, I'm happy, considering your input, to cut you in for say, 45% of the profits? Let me know, I'll get the paperwork drawn up. I have a set of crayons and some butcher's paper for just this occasion.

Great post. This great dessert I learned from my girls. When they did it in school a few months ago. Kids love it so we often do it.

Thanks @sylviamiller. Your girls are obviously master chefs otherwise this recipe would be beyond them. I'm glad that they've versed you in the ways of Fairy Bread also. I can imagine you standing in the kitchen slaving away over a Fairy Bread creation, learning the correct butter spreading techniques, 100's & 1000's dispersion skills and of course, the most difficult stage, the de-crusting of the bread. Thanks for reading my post. If you haven't done so, you may like to read it over and over, maybe just study it to ensure your Fairy Bread is of the highest quality.

Love it.
Fairy bread is a staple at all birthday parties in this family.
We also do Dino bread for my little men. Just swap the 100's and 1000's for little Dino sprinkles and use a shape cutter to create the perfect T-Rex.

Woah, now, slow it down @mumofmany. Now you're taking the complexity level through the roof! Bloody *Dino Bread?! DINO BREAD? You need to remember that some readers of my Everyday Gourmet food blog are not at ninja-level skills like you and I just yet. You can't just bust out Dino Bread like that...They need to work up to that level slowly. :)

Lol.
You have to aim high!

The day may come when I fail to upvote fairy bread.
But it is not this day.

Bwahaha! Cheers mate.

This post received a 20% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @scooter77 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3316.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66