Vegan food doesn't have to suck!

in #food2 years ago

I am not a vegan but this type of food is very popular in the part of town that I live in. I first started to get food from this place because it was very close to my house and that is the only real reason why I did it. I also kind of felt like it couldn't hurt to get more veggies in my diet because for the most part, I am a carnivore.

The place is called Roots and it is normally quite busy. I was perusing their menu and decided to take a chance on a sandwich even though I couldn't really even tell what it was.


image.png

I only ordered this because it was one of two available options and the other one has pesto on it, which I do not care for. I wasn't really expecting it to be all that great because they use no dairy which means no butter either and to me at least, this is an important part of the toasting process. Thankfully, I was wrong and this sandwich is absolutely delicious.


image.png

My sandwich was a little bit different than the photo on their menu and I can't say I am disappointed about that because in their photo the toast is black and I don't even want to know how they pull that off. They claim that everything in their shop is organic and I believe them so I don't know how one would accomplish black toast.


image.png

They slather both sides of the toast with hummus then throw some sort of roasted pumpkin or something in the middle along with these leaves that they call "rocket salad." You can tell I am new to this, no doubt.

In the end when I got home I was expecting to scarf it down because I was so hungry that I would eat anything at that point but then I discovered that this is actually one of the best sandwiches I have had in a really long time including the ones I've had with meat on them.

It just goes to show that the old adage of "if you never try, you'll never know" and I am very happy that I tried it because now it is going to become a regular part of my eating rituals, perhaps several times a week.

I'm one of those types of guys that when he finds something he likes he tends to eat it until he hates it and this is exactly what I intend to do with this sandwich. By the time I stop ordering it they'll likely send someone by my house to make sure I'm ok.

If you would like to have an amazing vegan sandwich, even if you are not a vegan; I highly suggest that you check out the Autumn Power Sandwich from Roots. You can find them in My-An ward in Da Nang, Vietnam. Or just click here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79