It's hard to beat a nice plate of pasta. ๐Ÿ

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

Unless you add a side of chickenless parm!!

There's no harm in mixing olive oil into your tomato sauce, so I like to fry the patties in oil and then just pour the sauce into the pan. Then I top it with Italian seasoning and a little bit of non-dairy cheese.

Often I'll put a bay leaf in there too, but today I didn't.

Then lower the heat and put a lid on top and give the cheese an opportunity to melt.

When it was all finished it looked like this:

My tomato sauce is "meh" for the price.

"Michael's of Brooklyn". It's perfectly good, but Rao's is better, easily.

I posted before that I avoid Rao's until it's on sale for $4.99. It was on sale for $6.99 so, you know, it was in the ballpark of where you start to consider it. And it jogged me in the direction of buying a higher end sauce, but I felt like I wanted to try something different, to see if Rao's really holds up or what.

It held.

Michael's is fine but Rao's is king. Michael's could maybe be described as "droopy" by comparison. It's thinner and becomes runny on your plate, whereas Rao's sits up perky and full.

Michael's is fresh and clean and seems every bit worthy of its higher pricing but, meh, it's just no Rao's.

After all: If it was as good as Rao's they may have just named it Michael's and left the gimmick out of it.

I can't say for sure that I won't try it again. I might try one of their other varieties. In general tho I'd rather buy generic sauce and save my bullets for Rao's.

this is not a paid advertisement, but if Rao's is listening they should hit me up ๐Ÿ˜Ž

(If Michael's is listening, boy is my face red.)


I hope everyone has a wonderful Thursday evening and that we all slide into a very nice weekend.

Sort: ย 
ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Yum ! Making me crave some Italian food!!
I have been traveling trough Asia the last two months. I have been eating some good food, but there are some foods that I have really been missing..
Italian food, pizza, and a good American breakfast! hahahha
๐Ÿ˜Š

Hahaha yup! Whenever I'm traveling or otherwise without a kitchen... I eventually really start to miss a simple plate of pasta. :)

super jealous right now! All I want to do is travel and try new foods but 9-5 is hard to escape from haha! Enjoy your travels, and donโ€™t worry, youโ€™re not missing much back here in the states haha

ya I just checked out his blog, I'm jellybelly now too

Yeah man now you're making as all jealous ๐Ÿ˜‰

ya, guy comes in here gloating while we're all working jobs and writing blog posts about pasta .. can u believe that s*#t?

๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

Friend when can you go to my home? you cook great! that sauce looks super tasty. Regards

Regards @dim753! Where do you live? You never know, maybe one day it will happen!! ๐Ÿ˜ต

What kind of cheese did you put on the chicken?! A non dairy substitute?!

Looks amazing by the way ๐Ÿ˜›

Yup non-dairy!! Cheddar style, so not the ideal kind for Italian.. worked fine tho hehe

It was all pretty bomb, lol

"Michael's of Brooklyn". It's perfectly good, but Rao's is better, easily.

Very nice description of "Michael's of Brooklyn". Your finished pasta looks really delicious. I always try to cook at home yay like you do. Not always itโ€™s delicious, but I also canโ€™t tell Iโ€™m a bad cook.

ya for sure! I feel like that's all it really is.. if you like it then you're doing a good job

My only real skills with cooking is that I'm focused and usually execute effectively.. but if you're not trying to win a Michelin star or anything then that's most of the battle :p

if you put me in a restaurant kitchen I'd have a lot to learn

Add butter to the sauce alla Tuscany. Oh man, now my mouth is watering.

๐Ÿ˜ฒ I do have some Earth Balance buttery spread chillin' in the fridge that I could have included

another time ! another time !

Just keep it in mind. A couple TBS of butter adds miles of flavor and unctuousness to your sauce (even if it isn't Rao's)

I feel like I couldn't taint Rao's like that ๐Ÿ˜ฒ but will definitely try it with a lesser sauce sometime soon

Oh dear lord. For simplicity try this https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1015178-marcella-hazans-tomato-sauce

If you're feeling more adventurous try this: http://foodmack.com/recipe/new-york-times-classic-marinara-sauce-sugo-alla-marinara/

For something similar to Raos, but far better try my bolognese sauce (warning: it takes all day - and honestly I only make it once or twice a year, but it's always rave reviews): http://coolcathotfood.com/bolognese-sauce-pasta/

bolognese-sauce.jpg

Awesome! Love the second recipe!! The specification of 'GOOD' olive oil is no joke .. it's like totally different products, I'll dunk bread in good olive oil and love it, but "olive oil" I'll just think of more like regular vegetable oil

if I do it I might go all the way and use san marzano tomatoes and see if I can beat Rao's ๐Ÿ˜†

I'm vegan so have to skip the bolognese

It's possible that a vegan bolognese is a viable thing.. but it'd just call for a different recipe from the ground up, there isn't like a tweak or two that would do it

thanks!!

YES. San marzano tomatoes and a great olive oil and you'll be in heaven. And yeah. some great bread to sop everything up.

and blog about it on Steemit, obv

look! look! I made sauce. Just like you wanted me to. ๐Ÿ˜Š

https://steemit.com/food/@full-measure/i-did-it-i-made-my-own-tomato-sauce

I can see, you fell in love with "Michael's of Brooklyn". Its like when I love some food I think about it, dream about it and write about it.lol
My favorite dish pasta with delicious sauce, some meat perhaps or cheese.
Nice writing though!

Ya indeed! Well I fell in love with Rao's!

"Michael's of Brooklyn" got overly talked about basically because of how much I missed Rao's :p

Michael's was fine tho. Was a great meal. Just didn't have that next dimension that Rao's would have brought to me.

Yes, of course. Raoโ€™s is the lucky one. I should try it as well.

Hehe ya! :)

Seeing it alone, have imagined how it feels, makes me want to continue to eat it, until full.
Eemp yummiii ...

ya it was goood .. I ate it until it was gone but it didn't quite make me full ๐Ÿ˜‹ sometimes I have a big appetite

Hehee ..
Means you have to add it again,

Maybe! lol

Haha while it doesn't look like a 5-star meal it waters my mouth incredibly, really, the simplest dishes are sometimes the best ๐Ÿ˜‰

Crush it this weekend๐Ÿ’ฃ

Ya absolutely!!! These little taste buds of ours don't always need fancy things ... comfort food ftw!

You have a great weekend too!!

Mmm, that pasta looks good. Is that nutritional yeast I see in the background?

hahaha yup! our old pal the nutritional yeast snuck its way into this post :)

I love pasta. But I think brazilian BBK can beat pasta for sure

what's Brazilian BBK??

Brazilian barbecue. My favorite meal

ohhh, gotcha gotcha.. seems like probably a lot of meat :p .. but ya, I bet it's yummy

It is a lot, for sure. Something like this.churrasco.jpg

MY INNOCENT EYES ๐Ÿ˜ฒ๐Ÿ˜ฒ

carnage

HAHAHAHAH

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93