Kataif with almonds - my not so sweet version

in #food7 years ago

Hey Steemians,

One of my favorite cuisine is the Turkish one, unfortunately their desserts are way tooooo sweet for my taste buds. Don't get me wrong: I eat baklava, kataif if I see it.

IMG_20170712_181034.jpg

Yesterday, I went shopping to the best Turkish butcher's from Bucharest and decided to buy some special kataif noodles. Another reason I bought them is that my boo always teases me that I can't do this recipe. Hahaha! Guess what?!

So, the recipe is quite simple.
1 package kataif noodles
200 g sugar (the original recipe is with 500g sugar, but come on!)
150 g butter
Almonds
Vanilla extract
500 ml milk.

  1. Put the kataif noodles in a pan. Put the butter over.
  2. Cook them in the oven for 10 minutes.
  3. Make a syrup of milk, sugar and vanilla extract. Bring milk to boil.
  4. Pour the syrup over the noodles.
  5. Add almonds.
  6. Cook for another 10 minutes.
  7. Leave it to cool.

IMG_20170712_181102.jpg

Enjoy!

FoxxyCat

Sort:  

Congratulations @foxxycat! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Delicious photos!

Waaa how delicious it is. That makes me hungry. Good luck with other recipes.

I've never tried Kataif before. Your version looks delicious, though. Thanks for sharing! I will try it out some time. :)

hey, thank you. you should try it, it's really delicious. I recommend you the pistachio kataif or kunefe kataif (this is with a special cheese).

Thanks for the tip! :)

I hear you! We lived for many years in a Turkish neighborhood in Ghent, Belgium. We loved their food, but indeed desserts were always too sweet! Great recipe@foxxycat

Thank you @amy-goodrich. I've heard that their rice milk pudding is super delicious and not so sweet. Never tried though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58