Food.is.love #4: Take the humble sweet potato to the next level!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170618_122408.jpg

This one’s a real crowd-pleaser. 'Sweet Potato Mash' may sound boring, but trust me. When the root is paired with the right ingredients, it becomes explosively addictive.

Use orange sweet potatoes. They are good sources of carotenoids, potassium, magnesium, and vitamins B6, C, and D. Although 'sweet' is part of their name and flavor, sweet potatoes do not cause sugar spikes. In fact, they are a great source of energy because they slowly release their natural sugars into the bloodstream. So heap on the second helpings without worrying too much about feeling fatigued, headaches, dizziness, etc. afterwards.

Everything you need to make a yummy Sweet Potato Mash

6 medium-large orange sweet potatoes, halved
100 gm butter, cubed
5 gm (1 tsp) sea salt
2 gm (≈1/2 tsp) paprika powder
2 gm (≈1/2 tsp) garlic powder
2 gm (≈1/2 tsp) black pepper
1 gm (≈1/4 tsp) rosemary powder
1 gm (≈1/4 tsp) ground cinnamon
0.5 gm (≈1/8 tsp) ground nutmeg
0.5 gm (≈1/8 tsp) five spice powder
25 gm (approx 5-6) stalks spring or green onions, finely cut

IMG_20170618_110920.jpg

How to make it:

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C. Line a baking tray with baking paper. Arrange the sweet potato halves cut-side down on tray.

  2. Using a fork, liberally prick the skin of all the sweet potato halves.
    IMG_20170618_110830.jpg

  3. Bake the sweet potatoes at 200°C for 45 minutes. Doing this step ensures that the natural sugars in the sweet potato caramelise, making for a yummier mash later on :)
    IMG_20170618_123813.jpg

  4. Once done baking, carefully peel the skin off each sweet potato half (the skin should come off easily because of all the pricking work earlier).
    IMG_20170618_122753.jpg

  5. Put sweet potatoes into a pot and add in butter cubes, seasonings, spices, and spring onions.
    IMG_20170618_122535.jpg

  6. Mix everything well. Do a taste test. If you like things saltier or want a particular spice to stand out more, by all means add more salt/spice to your taste.
    IMG_20170618_122303.jpg

— If you're pressed for time, stop here and serve it as a side of mashed potatoes.
— If you're making this for someone you love or want to impress, carry on with #7.

  1. Scoop the mash into the empty sweet potato skins and smooth into a mound. Top with gratin cheese (shredded Mozzarella, Emmental, and Cheddar cheese in equal ratio). Set your oven to 'top grill' function, and bake the sweet potato mash in skins for 4 minutes or till cheese is just browning.
    IMG_20170618_122408.jpg

Time to om nom nom & ENJOY! :)

A BIG THANK YOU to everyone who comments, upvotes, follows, or resteems.

Your support and feedback on how I could do better means a lot to me :)

Sort:  

My husband( @lexikon082 ) has been telling me about this recipe and your blog in general. We have the ingredients on the shopping list for Sunday. I'm stealing his post idea for the family response to this recipe! Hey, I have the food blog, right! You have a new follower and thanks for sharing the recipe.

You're very welcome, @curly-q! I'm giddy happy knowing that you're going to try out the recipe..! I can't wait to hear your family response!

Thanks for sharing my blog with your sweet wife, @lexikon082!

I hope they like it but usually if it has cheese on it they will eat it;)

that looks not only yummi that looks suppperrr yammmiiii and by the way I have to make some food now :D :D :D

I'm glad for your sweet words...What did you end up making? :)

anti pasti italian plate :D

ooo sounds posh!

I need to try out this recipe i hope it turns out good😁😁

I hope it turns out good for you too! :) My family members are all smiles every time they see me buy sweet potatoes cos they know I'm gonna make this recipe (one day, I'll prove them wrong by making something else!)..hehe..Let me know how it went!

Looks great, @foodie.warrior. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I have just upvoted your post! You may enjoy reading my new post in which I'm interviewing the TV show "Top Chef": https://steemit.com/food/@lazariko12/t-h-i-s-t-v-s-h-o-w-r-o-c-k-s-m-y-t-o-p-c-h-e-f-t-v-s-h-o-w-r-e-v-i-e-w

Checked it out. Thanks for the support and link! :)

Are you going to make it for @fernandam? ;)

Heavens no!

I want it edible, if I make it we will be eating out that night 😀

Better wait then..don't want the poor sweet potatoes to go to waste 😂

I will be sure to share this recipe with my wife. I am not a sweet potato fan, but this looks so delicious that I really want to try it. I see that your first post is four days old and I must say you have been steeming away. It's quite impressive. Keep up the good work.

Thank you! I must say I've been a little bit addicted to steemit..been having a lot of fun here and pretty much glued to my laptop whenever I'm home ;)

I hope this recipe converts you into a sweet potato fan..I would be so honored then :))

Lol, Yeah Steemit can incorporate itself into a daily part of your activities. It's a solid community though and is helping change a lot of lives for the better. I will let you know how the sweet potato recipe goes when my wife makes it.

Yeah, it does have the ability to worm itself into and eat up our time without us noticing, doesn't it :) Holding my breath and patiently waiting to hear what you both think then :)

New follower here. I love all your seasonings you used. Sounds and looks yummy. Enjoyed your post and recipe. TFS.

Thanks dear! Feel flattered, especially when these kind words come from none other than an experienced, established cook.. :))

This some next level stuff lol. Sweet potato supreme right here bless 🙏 I don't really eat sweet potato, but may just try that. Omg the cheese all over that got me like

Hehe it's not the flavour of the Mexican food you're hankering after, but still yummy! :).. let me know how you found it if you tried it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64