Vegan Lemon Tart

in #food6 years ago

Since joining Steemit, I’ve committed myself to post a recipe at least a few times a week if not daily. At the start I was able to blog daily. It was still summer, the days were longer, and I felt that I had more time to prepare things and organise myself. At the same time, I was using my iPhone for taking pictures to showcase the dish of the day. However, I soon realised that the quality of the pictures was as important if not more important than the recipe or the text itself. I therefore moved to my Canon 600D and felt more compelled to prepare, arrange, and illustrate each event leading to the final dish. This added an extra 30 minutes if not an hour to the whole process. Sometimes I would be so unhappy with the pictures that I would rather not put up the post for the day. Other times I would restart the process a few times until I’ve got the gist of things.

Life is an eternal learning experience. Of course, I knew that. But it never felt so true since I’ve started blogging on Steemit. I could easily prepare something quick and cheap that I wouldn’t eat and showcase it as something amazing for others to try. However, it wouldn’t be honest and ultimately it would betray the trust than some of the regulars to my blog have entrusted me. So now I tend to pace myself with how and when I blog. Generally, if I blog something it means that the day before I would have try a variant of the recipe to make sure it meets all the criteria I set myself as a foodie. It must be simple, from easily sourced ingredients and looks and tastes amazing.

To try and encourage more Steemians to read my post I’ve also tried to enter different contests to get some notoriety. One contest I’ve been participating week in week out is by the @cookwithus crew. This week’s theme is vegan. So, I’ve been trying a few different options over the past few days. I’m yet to decide the entry I’ll make for the contest. In my quest for an appealing dish I came across a vegan lemon tarts from Tina Khoury (The Barefoot Housewife). This recipe is all I could ask for: simple, colourful and yummy. I had to give it a try. Obviously, since it is appearing today I won’t be entering it for the contest, but it means that I’ve got my mind set already on what my contest entry will be. And I really hope I could pull it as it involves some vegan ingredients used in an unlikely fashion. Enough said for now.

As for this Vegan Lemon tarts it was quite a technical challenge to pull. Right in the middle of processing the nuts and seeds, I managed to burn down the food processor. There was literally smoke coming out of the machine. I had to go buy a brand new one. And $200 later I was crushing my way through creating the base. And later in the afternoon I even managed to crack a base with hot water, which then went into the power plug causing the switch to go off and prompting our alarm monitoring company to call us advising of a power failure. Let’s just say it’s been a costly vegan lemon tart.


Ingredients

The Base 

  • 1 cup raw almonds 
  • 1 cup pitted dates 
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut 

The lemon filling 

  • 1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice 
  • 3/4 cup full fat coconut cream 
  • 1/3 cup rice malt syrup 
  • 1 tbs lemon zest 
  • 1/2 tsp powdered Agar Agar 
  • A tiny pinch of turmeric


Method

For the base 

  1. Put all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until the mixture sticks together. Make sure not to blend too much to leave some texture. 


  2. Press mixture evenly into mini tart tins. Chill in the fridge and move on to make the filling.  

The filling 

  1. Heat all the ingredients, except the Agar Agar, in a small pot on low heat. Once heated through, whisk in the Agar Agar. Bring mixture to the boil, reduce heat and simmer for a few minutes. Allow the mixture to cool a little. 

  2. Pour into bases and chill in the fridge for a few hours. Decorate with fruit or edible flowers.






I hope you enjoy it! 

Bon appetit! 

Sort:  

Awesome recipes and great photos, these are well thought and well made articles. You now have a fan in me.

I see your posts are not getting as much attention as well. Someone has recently submitted your steemit account to minnowbooster for whitelisting ( great bloggers become whitelisted ) and I've been lucky enough to review your account. Consider using minnowbooster in tthe future to boost your post and get your article seen by a wider audience. Have a look at my blogs for reference. Cheers!

Thank you for taking the time to go through my post. I will need to get my head around how all the minnows work etc. I’ve looked at your post and your pictures are amazing how lucky to have been to hobbit land. Let’s see how things pan out.

WOW; It looks tasty and appetizing, even the cat is delighted, I'm going to try it, and by the way I loved the photos, you gave life to this article.

Thank you so much. One tip when making the casing make sure that you get the removable one otherwise you might spend quite some time trying to remove the tart from the case.

wow that is very good. good idea. I would like to imitate this too

Oh thank you. You should try it and be careful with the use of both the lemon and agar agar. Try to balance both properly.

tank you my dear @foodforsoul. i see you have many experience. i would give my best.

These look amazing! That cat seems pretty interested in them too.

Buddy always likes to be in front of the camera ! He had a sniff and another one sniff and decided there was nothing fishy going on! You might like the tart casing in particular it’s quite original.

Oh the tarts looks very nice!
Great recipe, should try this out sometime (:

Thank you and go slow on the lemon!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Looks scrumptious! Thanks for sharing 😋

Thank you for taking the time to read through it. You should give it a try.

Really beautiful @whattheduck...did the kitty enjoy it? :) Love the lemon!!

Thank you. I don’t think he is a big fan of lemon lol.

This is SO beautiful! I can practically taste that lemon filling. Also, I love your kitty!

Oh thank you. And I did put a lot of lemon in it. No wonder it’s made it’s ways down to South Africa lol

Oh wow @foodforsoul, this is so beautiful and looks absolutely delicious; nutty, lemony, coconut...all my favourite ingredients! Very well done :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61