Easy-peasy quick pickled banana peppers!

in #food7 years ago

I picked a few banana peppers from our garden today, and thought the best thing to do with this small batch was make a pint of pickled banana pepper slices! These peppers marinate in the fridge for two days, and will keep for months! No canning required :)

Untitled.png

Ingredients

4-5 banana peppers
half clove of garlic, sliced
1 cups water
1/2 cups vinegar
1/2 tbsp kosher or other coarse salt
1/4 tsp celery seed
1/4 tsp peppercorns
3-4 whole allspice (optional)

Wash peppers thoroughly, and cut off tops. Core and de-seed if desired. Slice into ¼” or ½” rounds, and pack into a clean pint canning jar. Add garlic to packed jar. If you're not keen on garlic, add less or omit :)

In a medium pan, combine water, vinegar, salt, celery seed, peppercorns, and allspice. Heat brine over medium flame, stirring regularly to dissolve the salt. Bring to a boil and turn off heat. Pour brine into packed jar, ensuring pepper slices are completely covered. Add lid and ring and hand-tighten. Allow jar to cool to room temperature, and place in refrigerator.

Pickled banana peppers are ready to enjoy in two days and will stay good in your fridge for months (not that they’ll last that long!)

SteemIt Footer.png

Thanks for reading! Want to see more?

Check out our main Fluster Farm site!
Fluster Farm on Twitter
Fluster Farm on IG

Sort:  

I do this with cucumbers, making a fresh pickle. We are still eating pickled veggies from last year...carrots, red peppers, green peppers, hot peppers...
Being lazy I just boil the water separately and save washing the pan.

Is there a good reason why you need to boil all the other ingredients together?

The other thing I like to pickle is store bought tofu, when I can't get fresh. I freeze it to change the texture and after it is thawed add it to the same pickle juice I have been using since last summer, with fresh dill and garlic. I have to add more vinegar and salt from time to time.

The main reason I boil the ingredients together is to allow the salt to dissolve completely and for the brine to mix thoroughly, but I am sure it works just fine boiling just the water and shaking up the jar. I'll try that with the jalapenos I am pickling today! I love quick pickled stuff. It's so easy and ready so fast! I reuse the pickle brine, too, at least, what's left because my husband likes drinking it straight from the jar occasionally... I've canned pickles before and had an issue with them turning soggy, but I think I used the wrong kind of cucumber. I grew Boston pickling cucumbers for the first time this year, and they've got a nice, thick peel with a very satisfying crunch.

So there is no hard and time tried rule where you got the recipe from?
I always take the quickest way and if it works I will continue.
Not so sure about the fermenting value as far as health is concerned but I drink the pickle juice from some batches with a feeling of satisfaction, especially after getting sweaty outside.

Great post and will share to one of my pages for you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by flusterfarm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65