You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Easy-peasy quick pickled banana peppers!

in #food7 years ago

I do this with cucumbers, making a fresh pickle. We are still eating pickled veggies from last year...carrots, red peppers, green peppers, hot peppers...
Being lazy I just boil the water separately and save washing the pan.

Is there a good reason why you need to boil all the other ingredients together?

The other thing I like to pickle is store bought tofu, when I can't get fresh. I freeze it to change the texture and after it is thawed add it to the same pickle juice I have been using since last summer, with fresh dill and garlic. I have to add more vinegar and salt from time to time.

Sort:  

The main reason I boil the ingredients together is to allow the salt to dissolve completely and for the brine to mix thoroughly, but I am sure it works just fine boiling just the water and shaking up the jar. I'll try that with the jalapenos I am pickling today! I love quick pickled stuff. It's so easy and ready so fast! I reuse the pickle brine, too, at least, what's left because my husband likes drinking it straight from the jar occasionally... I've canned pickles before and had an issue with them turning soggy, but I think I used the wrong kind of cucumber. I grew Boston pickling cucumbers for the first time this year, and they've got a nice, thick peel with a very satisfying crunch.

So there is no hard and time tried rule where you got the recipe from?
I always take the quickest way and if it works I will continue.
Not so sure about the fermenting value as far as health is concerned but I drink the pickle juice from some batches with a feeling of satisfaction, especially after getting sweaty outside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62