Best Before, But not bad after!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

"Best Before August 15th, But Not Bad After"


I just finished my morning glass of milk when I noticed that it had expired 6 days ago!
And it it still good!
No wonder why they write "Best before, but not bad after". I don't throw away food when the date has expired, if it passes my smell test I'll eat it.

Do you throw away food when the date says its expired?


miniDSCN4299.JPG
Original (4608x3456)


Location: Jæren, Norway
Camera: Nikon P900
No filter have been used
No editing have been made to these photos
Photographer: @flatman


Latest Post:
The Family of Minks




Sort:  

Yes i often throw...

you shouldn't! I haven't died or gotten sick yet, just ate some jam that expired in October 2016, its still good!

Okay.....thank you sooo much

Yesterday i drik milk how exp. 01.08.. it tastet like it was new 😊

Wow man! was that Tine or Q-melk?

The other day me and @mariustraasavik drank some 10 year old baileyes. Tasted absolutely fine. Its just the part of knowing its actually 10 years old that made it a bit weird..

Thanks for sharing!

I heard on the radio today about a couple of guys eating a cookie of some kind that expired some time during the 1994 Olympics. Apparently not a gourmet experience.

I ate some mustard that expired in 2012 the other day, lol! Tasted just fine!

exactly! no need to throw away food before it is bad

I'm often the same way haha... hasn't killed me yet, and I save a tiny bit of money!

hehehe... no need to throw away food, just leave it on the counter and eventually it will grow feet and walk out by it self

Wow! yep Most times I put my nose to it first. Just to save myself from the sour taste if it has turned.

the smell test is the best way ;)

Nope I still used it...upvoted and followed

good :) and I see you make delicious food. would love to try your chicken soup!

Yea you really should try it...👍😊

If you ever are in the area, please let me know so I can try your lovely food =)

How I wish...lol..but you can try cooking it i've posted the recipe

thank you, but I think its best if you do it the way it supposed to be done. lets just wait until we get rich some day, then I can afford to come try your food :) or you could start a steem-catering business, shipping lovely food all over the world :D

😄👌

I hold a food handler's certificate, and 'best before' means (in most cases) nutritional value, flavor, etc... decreases after that date. In some cases, such as meats, it gets a bit touchier, and you would want to use it asap, or freeze it immediately. There is also 'sell by' date, which is similar. I've used (personal use) plenty of things that were way past the date. Things in cans last forever, but the taste goes downhill after a year or two....

thats why they have this "Best before, but not bad after" date. where I come from they are not allowed to sell food that have passed the "best before" date.. they should give the expired food to the people in need and not throw it in the dumpster..

In France, it's the law to give it away, not throw it away. But, you can see how helpful it is marketing-wise to convince people food can't be eaten after that date; it makes people buy more.

great! yes we live in a "Eat, Sleep, Consume, Repeat"- capitalist society... only to benefit the elite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58