Thai Food Made for a Baby

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This is Thai food “made for a baby” so that I can eat it. The meat is pork. The veggies are all what I like. It has cilantro and other greens. I'm at dinner with my Thai friends and they cook for my preferences. You can see the steam because it is hot from the wok.

Bangkok Thailand Food from my friends fitinfun daily food photography fitinfun.jpg

But do you notice the chopped red things? You know darn well those are super hot chilies. They can't help themselves.

No! My Thai friends convince me! It’s not hot! This is special for you. Those are not the hot chilies. Those are the mild ones.

So I try - and reach for the tissues as I'm eating! Tears immediately roll down my face and my nose runs. I'm coughing! I'm choking! It’s a mess!

Every one laughs including me. It’s so dramatic! One bite of food and I’m done! They know I’m not kidding. They can’t believe how weak I am.

I know they lied. What kind of babies do you have here in Thailand?

A five year old comes over and tries my food. She agrees with everyone else that it is not hot at all. She tells me to eat more so I can get used to it. I tell her she can have it but it is too mild for her and she’s gone.

I just want that un-spicy and delicious fish you see in the background of photo. I was perfectly fine with it before this little emergency took place. And where are my pork balls!

But now my sinuses are clear and I am I ready to eat more. Wherever I can get it. Food will be coming for a while and I might switch chairs to get a better selection.

You are viewing my entry for the dailyfoodphotography contest by @howtostartablog.

I’m using a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera. Not recommended!

Would I be in SE Asia if I still weighed 275 pounds? Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I did.
Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

Sort:  

HAHAHA, my wife teaches toddlers English and is also an occupational therapist working with autistic kids and Thais really do cook their food differently for the little ones as they often send their kids round with dishes of food for both them and us to eat. They introduce the kids slowly to spicy food, and it's funny cos Ive never met a Thai kid who actually liked thai food ! We have a couple that come over for meals and the kids are a nightmare eating, taking hours to finish their dinners which of course their parents make them eat it all up !!
For me, they know to not put in the ubiquitous fish sauce but the spice i love, and I apologise for bragging here but Im proud of the fact I often get complimented on my ability to handle the really spicy stuff. I love Larb and always roast my own sticky rice and grind it by hand to give to friends...its actually about all I can make as when I cook western style for them, they smile and try to force it down but I know they hate it hahahaha
Hope youre keeping well and having a wonderful time :-)

Thank you ! I love it here. My son is like you - he loves hot food. He is still in San Diego and grew up there so he goes with the spicy Mexican. And Thai food. It's pretty good over there but expensive.

Here all meals are hours long. If not all day. People should be fatter for how much they eat :)

I can eat some spiciness - but this is over the top!

LOL! The bigger red chili's ARE the mild ones. You should eat at my in-laws sometime, they make som tam with 20+ chilis.

And don't they have a spicy sauce to put on that delicious fish in the background? Looks saap mak! Your friends are feeding you like a queen.

They are. It's just constant feast. I can go any night. I should go more. There is a lady with a food stand on the corner there and she brings me soup. They are 2 minutes away.

I want to get them on here. Several on are fb with good posts. They have a farm and business and do cool things. Cute dog!

I don't eat any sauce anywhere. It's a point of contention with us lol. I only want plain food.

Is your wife's family here or over with you?

They are in Thailand - in Tak province, Mae Sot town. It's western Thailand on the border with Myanmar. Like an 8 hour drive north from Bangkok.

I was like you when I first came to Thailand - only wanted plain food. I soon came to see how limiting that was, and then after a met my wife - a true chili junkie - I had no choice but to acclimate to the heat.

How long have you been in Thailand?

2 years - but I really can't eat it. I have autoimmune disease and all kinds of normal food flares me up. Eggplant, tomato, garlic, many other things - and I'm out! Can't eat any of it.

I'm just lucky my Thai friends help me. It's hard for them to think what to do sometimes, but 90% or the time it's delicious and does not hurt me. Trying to tell my problem to a vendor is not happening.

I'm going to Yangon for my next visa run. Can't wait!

I'm thinking I need to get out into a village or farm or resort again for a few months. I like that here a lot. I was in Udon last year that this time. Some of my photos here are from that wilderness.

Wow, that's a shame. I'm sorry and yeah I can imagine that makes getting anything from a vendor quite difficult.

This time of year we always loved going to the sea - usually Hua Hin because it's close. We spent many many weekends with friends at the Evason there.

And my favorite time of year is just around the corner - Songkran! That was always a good time to visit the village. Less crazy and more fun than in Bangkok.

I've been in Bangkok both times and I will be again I think. I love this time of year too. Nice to clean every thing out.

Ha Ha Ha Ha I am laughing out Loud :D :D :D
OOOOOPPPsss! :D

So I try - and reach for the tissues as I'm eating! Tears immediately roll down my face and my nose runs. I'm coughing! I'm choking! It’s a mess!

There is very famous dish we call it Biryani in our native land. You will forget this experience at once after having a few spoons of Biryani ;)

By the way this time instead of taste i found much humor in your blog :D :D

Thank you! I'm glad to make you laugh. Where do you live?

I am from the Historic City of Lahore, Pakistan :)

Oh. I would like to go there sometime. Maybe. I have some fb friends there.

Very interesting post i must say.
I am African and have lived in Thailand for the last 2 years and have traveled here for over 2 years and these 2 dishes are my favorite breakfast foods but i dont know if a baby can eat them.

Khao Tom sai Kai- Boiled rice soup with egg.(hope i got it right) haha. It is like a thin porridge and very tasty. You can add any type of meat or shrimp and the egg is cooked similar to a poached egg. Add some Naam Pla fish sauce, dried red peppers and I’m good to go.
My next favorite is Kai Jiew Moo sap- Thai omelet with minced pork. The nice thing about a Thai omelet is that it is almost deep fried. It is cooked in lots of oil at high heat but it does not come out oily. Add some hot peppers or spicy tomato sauce- (This is what westerners or Africans would call spicy Ketchup.)
So i would like to know if babies also eat these. :). Thanks

Yeah i agree with you. They have great food.

When I was in Thailand my favorite thing I ate for breakfast was actually the rice! We had rice for breakfast at several places, and it was always lightly seasoned and delicious. They also always had some type of noodle soup (similar to a pho broth, but slightly less flavor…) They did not really do sweets, but there was a variety of veggies and some meats as well. Thanks for this post @fitinfun, you took me way back to good memories :)

They definitely know their rice here. I love the purple stuff and the sticky rice. I have to watch myself not to eat too much. I'm so glad to bring you back here! Thank you for the compliment!

My kids both grew up in Thailand (7 y/o and 2 y/o) and they both ate those two dishes all the time. They were like mainstay go to dishes, not only for breakfast, but for any meal. I still make Khao Tom for them here in the U.S. and it's one of their favorite meals, usually with some garlic pepper ribs or chicken wings.

Kids are all different though. My 7 y/o, despite being in Thailand from the age of 1, cannot eat spicy food at all. The 2 y/o will happily eat spicy food, just not too spicy.

Very interesting. Is this soup like jok, or not?

Jok is hicker and more like a porridge. Khao tom is like rice soup. Basically just rice and chicken stock. You can add a protein and ground pork is common, as is fish. We also add some fried shallot on top, as well as chopped cilantro and green onion. Fried garlis is also a good addition.

I will ask my friends for sure about these dishes. What brings you to Thailand? I'm sure you feel lucky to be here like I do.

I get jok porridge at night - I think this might by like your first soup.

All the omelets I've had here are so good and I am amazed at the cooking method too. I have had the street version and also my friends can make it about one minute's time. I get all the veggies put in - basil, cilantro, onions, carrots - anything all they have. Here a Bangkok street food omelet I posted to this same contest a couple of months ago. I wish I had it this very moment!

I love jok porridge actually pronounced as joke. It is the first thing i take when i feel a cold on.
This is also a miracle cure for upset tummies and nasty hangovers :)
but for me I’ve never had anything better than a piping hot bowl from a street cart in Bangkok.
:) Thailand is smack-dab in the middle of everything. It’s three hours to Hong Kong, two hours to Singapore, four hours to Bali, and half way between Australia and Europe. You can get to a lot of places easily from Thailand, which, for a traveler like myself, is really appealing.
Thailand is convenient. Hungry at 3:30am? There’s someone around to sell you food. Need to take a bus to Vietnam? That can be easily arranged. Need to go shopping at some strange hour? There’s a store open. Pharmacy at 2am? Got that too. Thailand is just an easy place to live and move around in. And in Bangkok, you never have to wait for a taxi.

I agree with everything you said! I love all of that. I have a liver guy at 3 am here. And there's always people and you feel safe. My "cheap" pharmacy is the 24 hour one. I like banking on Sunday. That's so fun. And so pleasant.

For me - jok is a sleeping pill. I eat it and go to sleep.

I can't stand anything super hot either! Is the only "baby" part about it them putting less hot chilis in there?

The worst part is - they threw them in at the end. I would have loved this up until then. I even like the hotdog looking stuff but it is ALL hot now. The ground pork is very good too. I would have eaten that.

"Tears immediately roll down my face and my nose runs."

Know the feeling. Our Chinese restaurant does a great spicy Mongolian Beef, but the actual peppers they use are insanely hot (mind you I like spice). Every so often you don't notice one of the peppers and your mouth is on fire. Sure way to clear your sinuses if your congested...lol.

This happens to me many times a week here. I have no choice but to eat certain things hot. I try to tone it down or scrape it off if I can. So rude!

If you don't like spice scrapping it off only goes so far. For me that is all I need to do and I want the spice that is given during cooking...just not the whole pepper in my mouth like I've done a few times.

My Dad goes out of his way to eat spicy food and he won't eat these ones. One of these days I should find out what kind they use.

Nice post! I love thai food despite the fact that it's really hot! Now, I'm quite used to it, and my favourite in Green Thai Curry!

Please upvote my last post, too! https://steemit.com/dailyfoodphotography/@foodart/pasta-recipe-2-spaghetti-carbonara

Going to look. I pretty much just eat meat and veggies here. I'm not usually eating 90% of anything. I love to smell it and see it, but I'm not eating it.

gorgeous turn around @fitinfun .. most beautiful lady of the world

How nice of you! Thank you so much :)

mention not mam

Very very interesting post.Thanks for sharing with us

I'm glad you like it. Are you entering contests?

Good job.Keep it up
Thanks a lot for sharing it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12