Room Service Thai Food Billabong Hostel Phnom Phen Cambodia dailyfoodphotography

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Yes, I did go to Cambodia and eat Thai food, but it was not my fault. I stayed in the nicest cheap hotel ever and this is what their restaurant offered so this is what I ate. My first night's meal was delivered upstairs for me so I felt I was living in some luxury.

Phnom Phen Cambodia Thai food.JPG

The curried chicken with rice was very delicious. Of course, being who I am, I did not eat the rice and drained off the sauce from the chicken and veggies. And I know better that to try anything like that clear sauce with those red peppers in it! It is likely to blow my head off since I am a wimp on spicy food.

I was in the Billabong Hostel, right in the center of downtown and it was such a peaceful oasis. Everythig I ate there was amazing, the room was lovely, the staff was welcoming and efficient, and the pool was one of the best I have used in years. All for $6 a night in the dorms or around $20 a night for private rooms. This Phnom Phen hotel cannot be beat!

My Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera is not the best but it does the job.

This is my entry for the dailyfoodphotography by @howtostartablog. Maybe you have some food photography you can enter too.

Would I be lost in SE Asia if I still weighed 275 pounds? No. Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I did.
Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg

Sort:  

Staying slim while surrounded by delicious food. You're a wonder Wonder Woman!

Thank you! I'm fiercely protective of my weight loss. I know I have a gift and I'm not giving it back!

I could have eaten anything on this trip though. The pool was so great and I spent most of my time in it. Just looking through photos to find food for this post makes me want to go back. Best $6 hostel in the world, I think.

I spent a lot of time in hostals and posadas in Mexico when I used to hitch around in the 70's. Once found a palapa on the beach for $2/month! What an experience! Glad to see that it's still possible in this century. And I love Asian food. Cambodia sounds like the place for me.

Oh you did the dream trip. I was just in San Diego all those years, but never to Mexico. It was on my list but Thailand won. If you are interested in traveling over here I can point you to lots of resources and help you avoid my mistakes. There are a lot of steemers over here in various places.

I pay less than $300 a month for a nice place in a Thai neighborhood. I have a balcony and walk to the subway in Bangkok. I have friends paying less by far but no $2 a month as far as I know.

$2/month. That was 1971 in Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, now a tacky surfer resort that I will never revisit. Tar paper roof, dirt floor, stick walls. Pigs and chickens running around outside. I was the one in the coop. Pig head tacos 4 cents each. A mango banana smoothie was 40 cents. I took my last paycheck, which was $500, spent 2 months, bought souvenirs and came back with $300 and had $600 dollars worth of unemployment checks waiting for me. Life has never been better than that.

If I do make it to Thailand I will for sure look you up. I love the tropics and little brown people.

Wow! What a trip! And to come back to money. Nice. They are certainly small here. Even though I'm thin for the us - I'm fat again here. Kind of comforting.

I am probably moving on in a couple of months, but you never know. I never intended to stay in one place so long, but it's really good living here.

Smaller people, smaller portions and way less carbs in general.

As long as we can chat, you can advise me on the places you visit. I love having people on the inside.

my hobby is cooking .i enjoy cooking

Me too.

Nice! You should take photos of food and preparation and post them here. We have contests for that and you will meet other foodies. The contest for this post is just one food photo per day and pays well so try that first.

i think i m not going to be hit on steemit . but in other way i m very famous in my family becoz of my cooking

You never know if you don't try. What did you want to post about if not food?

I like Thai curry a lot! Looks simple but the taste is crazy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66903.13
ETH 3103.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74