Dinner Out in New York City!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

My night out in the Big Apple!


source


On my last night in the city for work, I decided to "splurge" on dinner. I had read the reviews of several restaurants and found this one that was on the borderline of my expense budget, so I figured, why not!? I took a bit of a stroll away from my hotel for this dinner, but the weather was beautiful (not very humid or hot for a NYC Summer's night!) and I didn't have any urgent plans for the rest of the evening.

My genre of food for the evening was Sushi. I haven't ventured far beyond the standard Tuna and Salmon dishes lately (other than the occasional Eel) and was up for an adventure!

I went to Momoya in Chelsea. With 4 stars on Yelp on 430 reviews, I figured this would be a decent choice to spend under $100 on myself for dinner and drinks! (I think I was in the $80 range after dinner, two beers, and tip!)

Momoya Chelsea Menu and Food

The menu has a nice selection, and if you sit at the Sushi Bar (as I did), you get an amazing view of everyone's food being artfully prepared in front of you! And I sincerely mean artfully. I wish I decided to take some pictures of other people's food, but I was too shy, or maybe just distracted by the attention to detail the chefs were taking!

Momoya Chelsea Menu and Food

I ordered the Sushi Tasting (which I had thought was served in a giant bamboo dish, but apparently that was reserved for the a la carts selections) which came with a Special Roll. After asking the waiter for his opinion on which one to order, I went with his suggestion and selected the Crispy Rice Roll.

Momoya Chelsea Crispy Rice Special RollI'm sorry about the 2 missing pieces, I thought about taking a picture after I ate the first couple of bites!

This was the first time I've ever had a Fried Rice Sushi Roll, and it was Amazing! They topped it with Spicy Tuna and jalapeño and it couldn't have been better :)

I will definitely be ordering this again at a later date. Maybe not every time I order sushi (since I do TRY to be healthy in my food decisions) but it will be added to the rotation!

I had to wait a little while after receiving my Special Roll because there were many other people who ordered the Sushi Tasting before me and there were only so many sushi chefs available. While I waited, my solo dining neighbor and I started chatting about the different sushi that we ordered and what our favorites were. It was a friendly conversation that continued through each of our dinners.

Momoya Chelsea Sushi Tasting

For the life of me, I can't recall all of the different fish on this plate, but all together, this was the best meal of Sushi that I have ever eaten. Each piece was masterfully placed and garnished (decorated). The flavors coming from these fish were fresh and plentiful! The garnish accentuated the best features of each fish and I will definitely recommend this option to any sushi lover!

I would like to get a little more adventurous and order more of the "Special" fish that were part of my Tasting, and also try the Sashimi Tasting option to see how that compares!

If you want to try some amazing Sushi and are in NYC, definitely put Momoya on your list!



*Thanks for reading, I hope you have a great day!*

Share your favorite Sushi experience in the comments!

Sort:  

looks delicious!

I ordered sushi for the family one night at a restaurant inside of a fancy hotel we were staying at. I had no clue one roll literally meant an entire roll - I thought it just meant one bite size piece. So I had ordered 8 rolls and the guy said "uhh,,...are you sure you need this many?" I said "yea, yeah, we have a big family and love sushi"...thinking we'd just get two little pieces each. It was very costly and when he handed me my to go boxes I was astonished lol.

Haha, that's a great story. Thanks for sharing!

Always remember (as I'm sure you will now), 6+ pieces of sushi per roll :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59218.43
ETH 2534.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44