Sushi Sunday

in #food6 years ago

As my sharp knives suggested yesterday, if was time to have sushi for Sunday. It's been way too long, because i have no idea when i last time prepared these yummy bites! But when @eveuncovered asked for it there was no reason to decline.
Making sushi with friends used to be quite common habit for us, but life sometimes comes on way and that habit of getting together has fade away. Thought every now and then we manage to make it still happen, in smaller groups than before but still.

I thought to explain the process of making sushi, but at the same time i realized that there is quite a lot technical stuff which are extremely hard to explain without showing. And cauz my experience working with dtube was horrifying you have to wait for the next time! I promised to larp @eveuncovered's personal chef for a day, so i did most of work and she provided the material for this post. So all credits from great pictures are going on her way!

PROCESS


Making sushi isn't too hard really, if the technique of rolling is familiar. It basically needs only skill of timing and preparing. Doing "mise en place" which means preparing in advance. Peeling, cutting, shaping, visualizing what are you doing.
There are some rules,maybe, in correct ways of making sushi and which ingredients to use in them. But if you ask from me, i'd say fuck that, do what you like! It's not that serious, it's food, it should be fun and tasty!

We ended up making some norimaki, californiarolls, nigiri's and salmon sashimi. Difference between maki roll's is that norimaki is classical sushi roll, nori seaweed on top and california roll is inside out version. I like breaking rules so we weren't following any guidelines when filling the rolls. @eveuncovered prefers vegetarian stuff, or slightly cooked salmon so that was the deal today. Sashimi and all the raw stuff is more of my thing.

ALL ABOUT RICE

The most important thing in making sushi is rice. Using right kind of rice, and preparing it in right way. Before cooking rice you wash the rice, so you won't end up with pot of porridge. After cooking the rice is seasoned with rice vinegar, sugar and salt. Mixture is ready for use when it's cooled down to room temperature.

When making California rolls, I use plastic wrap as a base of rice when filling and rolling. And after the roll is ready i finish it with black and white sesame seeds.

END RESULT

We love pretty things. This is no exception. I like to put food out as it was served in restaurant. Okay this kinda comes naturally to me as I have worked in restaurants past 11years...
I had these excess tiles from renovation which i saved for situation exactly like this, putting food out nicely. Plates are overrated anyway, using your imagination is much more fun!


So, what do you think about our little Sunday feast? And again, big should out for @eveuncovered for taking pictures!

Sort:  

Hi, great post and I was sent to you by my hubby, @erodedthoughts. He said here read she makes sushi and now I'm hungry. Ummmmm I wish it was that easy but he is going to still be hungry lol Great post and I am happy I found you :)

Aww! I admit, there is a technique for rolling, but other than that it is pretty simple. Thank god there is also take away places! I prefer them when i have desire for sushi and im too lazy to make then only for me. There is always that problem when making sushi’s your self that it is impossible to make small amount. Every single time you could feed the army...

And because you are such a great friend, you gave ALL the freaking leftovers to me 😂

You are so small! You have to eat to stay alive ! 😂

Take away is where he gets it now. He has been asking me to learn since we started dating. I just don't know where to go to find the ingredients.

Feeding an army would be feeding him. He could eat it all and then some. We have all you can eat sushi restaurants and he can stay there for 5 to 6 hours just eating, its crazy. I have no idea where he puts it.

Hahaha! Lmao! I can try to help you out with technique! Its a shame i have no idea where you can find everything in states... in finland almost every store has these basic sushi ingredients, rice, nori, wasabi and so on.

Here I might be able to find the rice and wasabi; but that's it, lol. The restaurants I think have it shipped in. I have read how much different food markets are in Europe and Asia compared to here and I wish we had it here. My daughter went to Iceland last year and she could not believe the difference in food. She said it was all fresh and homemade. There was not much processed food.

That's true, okay we have processed food also. But it is still easy to find and make your food from fresh and unprocessed ingredients. I have to do some digging! I have no idea what kind of things stores sell in states. As a baker who likes to use US recipes; wtf is self rising flour?!

See here it is the opposite. You can find any processed food you can think of but fresh ingredients are usual staples, like fruit, lettuce, cabbage, carrots, onions, etc. Nothing to complex.

Self rising flour is flour that does not need baking power and salt added. It already has it in it.

This doesnt make sense to me, what ratio is there baking powder and flour? and if you need less or more rise to the dough? Shady....

that looks so good
I am so glad you invited me over for the sushi . I'll bring the wine

oh you! perfect gentleman as always!

Only a woman can make a man shine as a gentleman

Oh stop you! (Please dont! )

I hate this post, makes me soooooo hungry.

You are going to hate my blog.... i’m already sorry for all the food spamming... sorry hun:(

It is sushi that makes me instantly hungry, not all food. Continue posting.

Continue posting sushi? Or just something 😂

AJ picked your post @escapist for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Bites of sushi in the pictures seem mouthwatering. I envy you ;)
Hats off to your creativity. The way you have used tiles for the presentation instead of plates really makes it different and more appealing.i loved the idea. @escapist

Thanks :) I think that interesting serving platforms makes the food present it self better that just normal plate would present it.

Creativity at its best @escapist

looks so delicious...

and it also was!

Eating them leftover over here, I'm gonna pass out after all this goodness!

That all looks really good! And I really like the creative use of tiles. I would never have thought of it myself but it totally works.

By the way, pickled ginger is the best.

Thanks! I know, i my self am also huge fan of pickled ginger!

Omg... do you ship? When Im rounding up some projects let me DM you, I have something in mind for you that might fire the bullet through the church.

Sure :) and sure :D

Sure?
Yeah, i’m sure 😉

Miten joku edes osaa tehdä noin hyvän näköistä sushia!

Mulla on ollut etuoikeus olla ihmisen opissa joka on tehnyt sushia työkseen 40vuotta. Väkisinkin tarttuu oppi moisesta lähteestä:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44