Homemade No Knead Whole Grain Bread

in #food5 years ago

Maybe some of you are asking yourselves why on earth would someone bake bread when you can buy bread everywhere, you can choose from a great variety and you can get fresh one from the bakery.

IMG_20190327_075836a.jpg

You're right, all that is true and I'm buying my bread usually from the nearby bakery. I prefer to buy fresh bread instead of those in a plastic bag that are like rubber already. I love whole grain bread with different seeds, it's the best but unfortunately it's not baked properly, so my next favorite is bran bread.

IMG_20190326_184446a.jpg

Even though fresh bread can be bought on every corner, baking bread at home from scratch is a challenge, baking good bread at home from scratch is an even bigger challenge.

It's not the first time I'm baking bread but it's the first time when I'm using this technique. The original recipe is this Faster No Knead Bread. Mine however is different as I've used different flour and recipient to bake.

There are a lot of factors influencing the quality of bread and flour is definitely one of them. White, all purpose flour is easier to work with and you can get a nicer bread but we all know it's not so healthy as whole grain bread or bran bread.

Let's see the ingredients and the process.

Ingredients:

  • 390 g flour (I used 260 g whole grain flour and 130 g all purpose flour),
  • 1/4 teaspoon dry yeast,
  • 1 teaspoon salt,
  • 350 ml hot water,
  • extra flour for shaping.

Instructions:

Combine the two type of flour (or what you choose), yeast and salt in a large bowl.

IMG_20190326_120928a.jpg

Stir in hot water until it’s well combined. You're going to get a sticky dough but it's ok, don't worry.

IMG_20190326_121216a.jpg

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap to keep it warm and to prevent evaporation. Let it rest at room temperature for three hours or could be more. After that transfer the dough to a well-floured work surface, sprinkle it with a little flour, use a scraper to fold dough over a few times and shape into a ball.

IMG_20190326_161653a.jpg

Place the dough on a baking paper and then in a bowl, cover the bowl with a clean kitchen towel and let it rest for about 35 minutes or so. The original recipe requires a Dutch oven with lid but I don't have one, so I used a heat resistant glass bowl with a lid.

IMG_20190326_161759a.jpg

Preheat the oven to 450° F, place the bowl in the oven but make sure the paper is inside the bawl or the Dutch oven because it could burn easily. Bake until it's light brown. The original recipe says 30 minutes but I have a very old oven so it took me more, like 50 minutes. After that, remove lid and bake till it's brown, another 10 - 15 more minutes. Let it cool completely before slicing. Cutting a hot bread is not recommended.

The bread is delicious, I'm satisfied with the result and I'm going to make another one with different flour as soon as I have time. It's fun :)

I'm posting the video as well because i know my cooking English is terrible :)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

Excelente, maestría culinaria...

Thank you very much, unfortunately I don't speak Spanish, I can only say gracias.

Bread like this is hard to find in bakeries here in our place. If there are, it's pricey. However, I like buying these kinds of bread whenever I have the chance.

Sorry to hear that. I know how it is to not being able to buy what you need. We are lucky to have all kinds of bread here but the healthy ones are not cheap.

I prolly should buy me a new oven so we can start baking our own :D

That's a great idea.

My son likes to bake bread a lot - and here, in the US, we don't have a bakery around every corner. I used to mill my own flour and bake lots of Sourdough bread. But I try to not eat too much bread so I gave up baking a while back.

Bread must be minimal if you want to stay healthy and have a healthy diet. That's why I prefer good quality and less, of course.

I love this type of bread and I am eating such for quite some months.

Happy to hear that, we need to eat healthy in order to stay healthy.

I m not spamming

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Looks good!

Thank you cookie 🙂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erikah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 13.97% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56